CAGED (An Original Story)

I heard a knock on the door;
Open up! open up!. I reluctantly crawled out of bed and make my way to the door, but suddenly I halted in the dinning floor as if my senses just returned. I raised my heard to check the time on the giant clock hang in the parlour close to our TV set. It was 1:15am in the mid morning. Still dark and scary; who could it be by this time I asked myself.
In a way, I became scared that I could even feel my nerves; the motions that was fighting it way up my skin as I shivered and was shaking as if I just woke up from a terrible nightmare.

I looked closely at mom's door still standing in the dinning floor. Imagining myself walking up to the door and perhaps call out for mom. But its just an imagination as I couldn't move.
If I can't reach out to mom then dad would be a "wildest imaginative" as I would have to pass through mom's room to get to dad's room.
Initially it wasn't so. I remember mom's room was always side by side to my room while dad's room was situated close to the parlour but now the case is different; mom and dad's room are conjoined in one, which you will have to pass through one to get to the other.

As I was just standing there searching for an answer among numerous options, the bang on the door kept on going and this time even louder. And my fear had a way of ascending with the noise on the door.
I couldn't think of any soul that would be banging our door at this hour and at the same time; why isn't anyone waking up to the banging of the door I wondered.! Though mom and dad are closer to the door from where the knocking and banging came from, and even my little brother too. His room is quite close, in fact very close, adjacently to the Parlour's door. So why isn't anyone hearing this.
How come am the only one driven out of sleep by this strange knock.
The more I thought of it, the more I became scared. I wished it was all a dream so I could probably wake up from it and realize everything was just as normal as when I went to bed.
As I was contemplating and wishing it was all a dream, mom came out of her room struggling with her phone to switch on the phone torchlight. She made her way to the dinning where I was, freezed like a stature, mom almost shouted as she pointed the torch at me and asked what I was doing at the dinning.
At that point I didn't know where to start or what to answer her. Although I was really happy within that finally someone had woken up.
Sooner or later I would have to answer the question as to why I was standing like a sculpture in the dinning floor.

As I tried explaining, the knocks and bangs came back again and this time louder, yet I didn't notice mom turn or even wondered who was knocking and banging the door, rather she was still eagerly waiting for an explanation for the question she asked earlier.
I knew for sure, that something is wrong somewhere, could I be hallucinating? Was I becoming insane? A new phase of fear overshadowed me. This fear wasn't about the knocks on the door but rather myself.
Am I hearing things now?
Will I be asked to visit a psychiatric sooner or later?
At that point, I knew better than to keep everything to myself.
As I turned to make out of the dinning back to my room; I heard a voice calling my name. I knew my mom's voice perfectly well and the calling wasn't from her.
By this time my mom had gone to the restroom to ease herself. If it wasn't mom calling, who else did?
I ignored the call and moved further. Yet another call came again; this time with some kind of a stress "Grace! Grace!"
I couldn't withstand the whole drama any longer. I couldn't hold myself, the next thing I could remember happening is that I led out a loud shout and I don't think any sleeping soul could withstand such shout.
Everyone woke up and came running to find out who was shouting in the middle of the night and why the person was shouting.
By this time, I didn't know myself again as if the shout removed or blocked my senses. All I knew is that I was blanked and totally out of space.!

End of Episode One

Are you curious or anxious about what became of the girl in this story?

Watch out and stay tuned for the next episode.!

For now, I rest my pen.!

@zellypearl
Thank you for engaging my blog

Imgref

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center