One Thousand and One Nights: The Story of the Porter and the Young Ladies: Tenth Night

THE STORY OF THE PORTER WITH THE YOUNG LADIES


porter.jpg
Source


The second saâlouk starts his story. He went from a very rich king' son to a poor woodcutter. And he found a beautiful girl underground!


ON THE TENTH NIGHT

Sheherazade started:

THE STORY OF THE SECOND SAÂLOUK

“Truly, O my mistress, I was not born one-eyed. But my story, which I am going to tell you, is so astonishing that, if it were written, it would serve as a lesson to whoever is capable of learning!

As you see me, I am king, son of a king! Know also that I am not ignorant: I have read the Qur'an; I have read the seven narrations; I have also read the capital books, the essential books of the masters of science; I have read the science of the stars and the words of poets. Finally, I applied myself so much to the study of all the sciences, that I surpassed all the living of my century.

So my name grows with all writers. Moreover, my fame spread in all districts and in all countries, and my valor was known to all kings. It was then that the king of India heard about it. And he sent to beg my father to send me to him, and at the same time that he begged me, he sent to my father sumptuous gifts and presents truly worthy of kings. So my father consented and had six ships ready for me full of everything, and I set out.

Our journey by sea lasted a whole month, after which we came to land. There we landed our horses, which were with us in the ships, and our camels; and we loaded ten of our camels with gifts for the king of India. But scarcely were we on the way, when a cloud of dust rose as it approached, and covered all regions of heaven and earth, and lasted thus for an hour of the day; then it dissipated, and from below appeared sixty horsemen like wrathful lions. When we looked closely at them, we saw that they were desert Arabs, bewildered cutting bandits! And when they saw us, as we began to flee, and had with us ten loads of presents destined for the king of India, they ran after us and directed their gallop, all reins loose, towards our side. So we beckoned to them with our fingers and said to them: “We are envoys for the mighty king of India! Don't hurt us!" And they told us: “We are not on his land nor under his dependence!" Thereupon they killed some of my young servants, while the others and I fled in all directions, me having been wounded with a tremendous wound. During this time, the Arabs of the desert were busy looting our wealth and our gifts left on the backs of camels.

As for me, on my flight, I no longer knew where I was or what I should do. Alas! not long ago I was in grandeur, and now in misery and poverty! And I persisted in my flight until I came to the top of a mountain, where I found a cave; and I was finally able to rest there and spend the night.

In the morning I came out of the cave and continued walking until I came to a splendid and prosperous city, with a climate so wonderful that winter had no hold on it and spring covered it always with roses. I, therefore, rejoice very much at my coming to this city, especially in the state of fatigue in which I found myself, overwhelmed as I was by walking and fleeing. And truly I was in a sad state of pallor. And I was much changed.

In this city, I did not know where to go, when, passing by a tailor who was sewing in his shop, I went to him and wished him peace! He returned my wish for peace, cordially invited me to sit down, kissed me, and kindly questioned me on the cause which kept me away from my country. So I told him everything that had happened to me, from the beginning to the end. So he was very sorry for me, and said to me: “O tender young man, you must not tell anyone about this whole thing! For I am afraid for you of the king of this city: he is the greatest enemy of your father, and he has an ancient vengeance to take from him!"

After that, he prepared food and drink for me; and I ate and drank, and he also ate and drank with me. And we spent the night talking; and he gave me a place in the corner of his shop, where I lay down, and he too, to sleep. Then he brought me everything I could need, a mattress and a blanket.

I stayed like this at his house for three days, after which he asked me: "Do you know a trade that can make you earn a living?" And I replied: “Certainly! I am a scholar versed in jurisprudence and a master in the sciences; I can read and I can count!" But he replied: “My friend, all that is not a job! Or rather it's a job, if you like (because he saw me very sorry), but it's not very popular in the market of our city! Here, in our town, no one can study, write, read, or count. But, simply, we know how to make a living." So I was very contrite, and I could only repeat to him: “Verily, by Allah! I don't know how to do anything other than what I've just told you!" And he said to me: "So, my boy, tighten your waist! And take an ax and a rope, and go cut logs in the countryside, until Allah wills to grant you a better fate! And above all, do not reveal your condition to anyone, because you will be killed!" Hearing these words, he went to buy me an ax and a rope and sent me to fell wood with the other woodcutters, after he had taken care to recommend me well to them.

So I went out with the woodcutters and started logging. Then I put my load of wood on my head, carried it into town, and sold it for half a dinar. I bought some food for a little spare change and carefully kept the rest of the change. And so, for a whole year, I continued to work, and I went every day to visit my friend the tailor, in his shop, where I rested in the cool, crossing my legs in my corner.

One day, as usual, I went out to do woodwork in the country, and when I got there, I found a dense forest where there was a lot of wood to be made. I then chose a tree that was withered, and began to remove the earth from all around its roots; but, as I was working on it, the ax suddenly got caught in a copper ring. So I removed the earth all around, and I found a wooden lid where the copper ring was attached. And I took it off. And I discovered, below, a staircase. I went down to the bottom of the stairs and found a door. I entered through the door and found a magnificent hall of a marvelous and well-built palace. And inside I found a girl admirable, equal to the most beautiful of pearls. And such, in truth, that the sight of it erased from the heart all care, all affliction, and all misfortune. I looked at her and immediately bowed in adoration of the Creator who had given her so many perfections and this beauty.

So she looked at me and said, “Are you a human being or a genie?" I replied, "A human being." And she said to me: "So, who could have taken you to this place where I have been for twenty years without having ever seen a human being?" At these words, which I found full of delight and sweetness, I said to her: “O my mistress, it is Allah who has brought me to your home, so that all my sorrows and pains may finally be forgotten." And I told her everything that had happened to me, from the beginning to the end. And that really hurt her a lot for me, because she cried and said to me: “I too am going to tell you my story."

At this point in her narration, Sheherazade saw the morning appear and quietly fell silent.


First Night - Second Night - Third Night - Fourth Night - Fifth Night - Sixth Night - Seventh Night
Eighth Night - Ninth Night

Eleventh Night

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now