STEEM TRAVELS (SPRING AND WALKS)

Ahh there's nothing like the fresh smell and sound of spring. Starting #steemtravels I've wanted to get out more. It gives me motivation to train for the half marathon me and @josefinemk are doing next month but also allows me to go and explore the city I'm living in!

As some of you may know I've started a bit of a contest with #steemtravels awarding 1 Steem a week to a random individual who walks or runs at least 3km or 1.8 miles at least once. Then I decided to add 10 Steem to the country that runs/posts the most distance after the 8 week total! I believe and hope it'll be a fun way to bring members of communities together in a fun way! You can check out contest here!!

Today I want to share my walk on I went on yesterday. Since #steemtravels is just about getting out they and enjoying it, and since I usually go for runs today was such a sunny and beautiful day I decided to enjoy the birds chirping and the fresh smell of spring!

I almost made it to 10km I was just getting home and couldn't be bothered to do another 200 meters as I was absolutely starving at that point! It's crazy in that time how many calories you burn (638) of course its not 100% accurate but gives me a rough idea.

I really enjoyed switching it up and being able to walk rather then the standard run! I feel great after a good run, but when you walk you truly get to enjoy your surroundings. I decided to take some pictures along the way to show you guys around Aarhus where I am currently living! Aarhus truly is a beautiful city and I didn't fully get a chance to see all the beauty until I got myself out there exploring the beauty of it!



The first stop was the Aarhus Fc soccer team stadium. What I really like about it is that the stadium is located just next to downtown sorta in the centre of this forest. During the weekends when Aarhus have home games you can see thousands of fans drinking beers and walking towards the stadium to cheer on the home team. They are extremely loud and supportive too, from our apartment which is probably 1km away you can hear them for the whole 90 minutes during the game.

So once I passed the stadium my next stop was the race track which is up in behind the stadium still in the same forest. Unfortunately I didn't get any pictures this time but I'll snap a few with some horses on my next walk or run!



Ahh the next stop was at the *Queens Castle park* also located in a similar area to the stadium, and horse track. A wonderful thing about this park is that it's absolutely humungus but also has a stunning view of the ocean on one side and the Queens summer house on the other. Right before I entered the park I had to take a picture of these strange looking trees. They're just so funky and look like trees you'd see in Africa or somewhere more tropical I feel like. It was so nice since it was around 10am and the park wasn't crowded at all! Practically had the place to myself for a while.

Ahh I couldn't stop taking pictures. Don't get fooled by their name but this *Redbud* tree was definitely making the best of spring! The pink colour from the tree has been blooming beautifully. It was quite funny there were about 4 grandmas taking pictures of the trees and a 23 year old kid as well. Little did they know that it would end up on the *best* social media platform out there ;)

This photo is still taken in the park and if you keep going north of where this was taken you'd end up at beach!



Made it to the coast! You can see from this photo that there wasn't a single cloud in the sky. It would have been a perfect spot for a picnic but @josefinemk was finishing class in less then half an hour so I had to continue on, I remembered something about an infinity bridge so I kept walking along the coast until I found it! It was crazy how many people were out enjoying the sun, especially on a wednesday. I guess not everyone is working the 9-5!

I waited a while to try and get a photo with no one on it but it was just next to impossible. As you can see it's an *infinity* bridge which I think was just built last year. Aarhus was the culture capital city of Europe in 2017 so that may have been something they built because of that, I'm not 100% sure. Either way it's a nice little spot. You can see the city in the distance there in the photo. I sat around for a bit and decided to take a selfie haha!

I'm not one to take pictures of myself. Don't get me wrong I love photographs but usually of the surroundings or for memory sake! Or with family,friends, or Jo but I decided to take one for Steemit! So don't judge peeps! Anyways I sat around for a bit and got a bit of a tan on before I got a call from Jo saying she's been waiting at home for me so I decided to continue my walk before I got the best of it at home!

I love this restaurant! Even though I've never ate there I could just imagine it's delicious. It's right next to the infinity bridge and overlooks the ocean. Jo's friend's dad actually owns the place. Its a fancy little(big) restaurant which is famous for it's great fish in this part of Denmark. Maybe me and Jo will sneak over there for a dinner one night before I head back to Canada for the summer!

Here is a photo of one of the entrances to the deer park! Right next to the coast it's a beautiful forest which is home to roughly a few hundred Red Deer, and some wild pigs. The area is fenced off but it's quite large so the deer can roam freely looking for guests to feed them carrots and apples! It's a a busy park with families and couples enjoying the beauty of the forest. The picture doesn't do it justice but when you walk along you can tell how enormous some of the trees are so you can tell the forest has been here for ages!

This last photo was taken on my way home. I was already about 30 minutes late but I couldn't help to stop at a typical Danish HYGGE house. It's a very famous word in Denmark it essentially means sorta cozy/relaxed. It's sorta a lifestyle they live by. It's hard to explain but anyways it was a cute little house. You can also tell it's someones birthday in the house as there are flags outside the house which signify a birthday! Then they clean everything up and make it look all tidy for the birthday, it's just apart of the *HYGGE*!

Anyways's I hope it wasn't to much and hopefully I'll get some of you to jump on board with me and share your #steemtravels . Who knows you may even win 1 Steem or 10 Steem if you're lucky, and if you're not in it for the money then come join a fun community!

Kryptocek steem flag 1.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center