Cycling California - Mtb in Los Gatos

I'm sharing my mountain bike ride today in Los Gatos, California. The trail is called St. Josephs hill which winds it's way above Lexington reservoir, a drinking water supply for Santa Clara county.

Shot below if rom Vasona park which I passed through to get to the trail. It was a crisp and clear 65* day. The fall colors of the back ground trees against the blue sky were very nice.
bridge.JPG

The ride was 17 miles and 1800 feet of elevation. Temperature sure makes a difference when climbing on a bike!
strava.png

GPS data from a Garmin Vivoactive uploaded to Strava.
stravadata.png

Another shot from Vasona park on the dam looking towards the foothills.
vasona.JPG

The top of St. Joseph's hill! The bike is a 2010 Norco Team Carbon, 1x10 drivetrain, 23.5 lbs.
top.jpg

I made some DIY chain lube that I saw online. It is a melted paraffin candle which is 1/3 of the mixture, 1/3 paraffin lamp oil and 1/3 solvent, in my case it was acetone.
That produces a white thin paste which I apply with a nitrile glove. Works great!

No go out and ride your bike!

I propose a new hashtag #steemitcycling
This can be used for any type of cycling, mtb, cross, road, bmx, etc...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now