Why is Steemit doing better in Ireland than the UK?

When I checked the Hypestat stats for Steemit today I noticed that Ireland has one of the higher local Alexa ratings at 613, compared with 2353 for the UK. Culturally and economically they are fairly similar and probably have a similar proportion of people on-line. The UK population is over 65 million, whilst Ireland is under 5 million. Maybe a smaller population means that community action can have more effect. I've seen users like @demotruk and @eroche doing good promotional work. @steem-dublin is organising frequent meet-ups. Word must be spreading. Can the Irish community give us any insights?

Hypestat

@pennsif was saying he's looking to promote Steemit more in Wales. That's even smaller than Ireland and probably quite similar in just having a few large towns and lots of small ones. I don't think we can get stats just for Wales, but Steemit is small enough that it would be possible to track if relevant tags are being used much. Is anyone posting in Welsh? Steemit is ripe for small communities to form and support each other. Local languages could be part of that.

Of course Steemit is also doing well in countries like Nigeria and Venezuela, but they are quite different to what I'm used to. They are poorer than the UK, but active Steemit promoters are showing people that there is this potential source of extra income.

Steem on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

Get a Wirex Debit Card to spend your crypto.

Get some passive income with Mannabase

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now