Not rude, just busy

I'm not having a go at anyone in particular, but I've been getting new Steemians reaching out to me on Steem Chat. Generally they want some support for their posts or advice. Some seem to just want to talk. The problem is that I spend too much time messing around on-line as it is. I do plenty to support people on Steemit, but that's by finding them through their posts and content. Contacting me like this is not likely to gain you much. If it gets worse I may just have to ignore the messages. I respond to people I already know, but I don't have time to help everyone. For now I do generally respond, but if I don't say much it's likely to be because I have other things to do.

Chat

If you want to talk to people about Steemit then there are plenty of public channels, such as General. There are others for specific topics. If you want to succeed on Steemit you need to engage with people who share your interests. If you are posting and chatting about whatever you are into then it will be a fun experience and you won't worry so much about the rewards. That's what I have always done. When I joined up over 18 months ago I made a few cents each week. I don't see Steemit being a full time thing for me so I have to fit in work and my other interests around it. As it is I'm one of the most prolific commenters. I just can't resist responding, but I need to keep it under control.

I have seen whale accounts who get dozens of small transfers with requests for a vote. I expect they get chat requests too. Discord is the other outlet for this. I'm sure the whales are busy too and cannot respond to every request, so don't feel they are ignoring you.

I'd also say that it's best not to comment just for the sake of having a comment on a post. If it doesn't seem sincere then you are unlikely to get a vote and doing it too much could get you flagged. Just think of whoever has to sort through all the comments to find the good ones. Steemit is still pretty small, but when there are millions here it could get less usable unless we get filters or something to deal with all the traffic. Some people might want to filter by reputation, which would make it even harder for new users.

I'm sure others are happy to be more sociable and they may even encourage it with links to their chat profile. Seek them out. They may not have as high a reputation as me, but it can still help you on your journey here.

No doubt this post will attract a few 'nice' comments. Don't be surprised if I ignore them :)

Steem on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center