The Old Dog Reports: Final Steemcation Summary Using SBD And The Advcash Debit Card

Last night I returned home from my 9 day Steemcation. This means that I have thoroughly tested my debit card and that the final results are now in. 


@lellabird60 enjoyed our third trip with the e bikes as we cycled 60 km through the vineyards and quaint towns.


In Previous Articles I Explained The Necessary Steps Leading to my Steemcation:

How Did I Use The Debit Card During The 9 Days?


  • I filled the car with diesel twice, bought a liter of oil and paid everywhere to park our vehicle
  • I payed for all meals, drinks and snacks for 3 people
  • I purchased tickets to see the new Spiderman movie, golfing in Rheinfelden, the Skywalk , the tour of the brewery, and the airship Museum.
  • I rented 3 e bikes for the day.

In other words I paid all expenses, apart from the hotels, with the debit card. Interestingly, with the money that is still loaded on it (€ 440.00) I could have paid a large portion of that as well!


Here above you can see all of the transactions that I've made!


SBD earned from Steemit paid for some great meals and goodies during our Steemcation! Thanks everyone!


Movie tickets, e bikes rentals, museums and the list goes on and on. We traveled a lot through Germany, Austria and Switzerland and Steemit paid it all! AMAZING!

Were There Any Problems With The Debit Card?

As you can see in the above image I used the debit card successfully 12 times during the Steemcation including 2 cash withdrawals of € 200.00 each.

In two restaurants where I tried to pay using the debit feature the card was rejected but in both cases I used the withdrawn cash to make the payment. Including my pre Steemcation tests this means that I now have a success rate of 15 out of 17 attempts or about 88%. Quite frankly, my other mainstream credit and debit cards don't work either from time to time and so the problem is likely with the vendor.

A Word to The Wise

If you get a debit card and want to use it exclusively, withdraw some cash from an ATM just in case the card doesn't work. If you don't have another card or any fiat cash it could become embarrassing at the very least!

This Steemcation Has Gone Full Circle! How?

During my trip it was a pleasure to chronicle much of it here on Steemit. In fact, while away I wrote 6 articles. Two of these have already paid out and so conceivably I could have continued traveling while loading my card with new incoming funds. 

Of course I live and travel in an expensive area of the world and paid for 3 people. Imagine though the possibilities for some in other areas of the world or those who are willing and able to economize. Now that's real Steempower!

Some Final Thoughts

I am a Steemer for the long haul. I have always powered up my "earnings" but I decided that it was time to try out the system. For me, this is not a job but a hobby and the culmination of a year long social experiment and personal challenge. Could an Old Dog that had never even been on any form of social media find success here on Steemit?

Things have worked out very well for me here on Steemit. Here's the good news: If I did it so can you! Thanks a lot to all of you...it's been quite a ride!

What do You Think?

  • Are you enjoying your Steemit ride?
  • Will Steemit power some of your future necessities and adventures?
  • Are you here for the long haul?


I hope that you enjoyed this article concerning my "Final Steemcation Summary Using SBD And The Advcash Debit Card!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will do my best to upvote it with some of my 42,000 plus Steem Power! 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center