Lionel Messi (WIP) And an Apple Crumble Recipe!

The Face

Nothing better than eating a yummy dessert and talking about soccer!

One reader mentioned Messi's hand is deformed, it just needs some shadows! I just applied several darker colors defining the hand and knuckles. Now you can see the hand isn't deformed.

I need to make Messi's nose bigger! I apply some darker shadows that will will thicken this bridge and make his nose more prominent. The technique I use is just like applying makeup to define a nose! hahaha

The light blue and bright red of the shirt will be deepened to dark purple reds and blues. I'm taking a deep purple over both of these colors to give the outfit the traditional dark maroon and deep purple colors. This is just the base colors I lay down first to give me an idea which way I want to go with the colors.

The face always gives me anxiety when I start because if I can't get the features lined up nothing else matters. I will smoothing out lines and adding details when I start the 3rd layer. I will bring out Messi's nose a bit, in my painting it isn't prominent as in the photograph at the bottom of this picture. The eyes will need additional definition along with his ears and eyebrows. His chin need to be a bit longer as well. I still need to bring his mustache down a little bit lower, his mouth is still a little to big compared to the picture. This refining process happens when I start my 3rd and last layer of paint.

Tonight I will finish up defining the arms, hands and knees. Messi's right arm has a tattoo, also the hand and arm are at an odd angle. Catching the angles correctly will be my challenge tonight!

22 x 30 inches cold press 300lb cotton paper, watercolor, 2018


First Layer

Background

Drawing


Lemony Apple Crisp Recipe

I also baked an apple crisp for dessert tonight. This is a great way to use up old apples that are too soft to eat.

I cut up the 8 organic apples with their skin into one inch cubes.

Sift 1/2 cup of flour over the apples with a 1/2 cup of sugar, and add the juice and the diced skin of one organic lemon. I stir everything together, add 1/2 cup of water into a sauce pan on medium heat until the butter melts and the liquid turns into a thick sauce. Make sure you stir the bottom of the pan and add additional water if the sauce starts sticking to the bottom of the pan.

I add 2 cups of oat meal, 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of coconut oil, 1/2 cup of sugar, 2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Mix the dry ingredients together with a pinch of salt, cut mixture with butter and coconut oil until through mixed.

Pour apple mix into a flat dish baking pan and cover the top with the oatmeal crumble. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Serve hot or cold with whipped cream or vanilla ice-cream.


some_text A link to My Blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center