Leg Day Workout - Bodyweight Training 053

For a decade I have strength trained by lifting weights with the mindset of "Lift Heavy, Lift Often" As a personal challenge to myself I have decided to use only my bodyweight for resistance for at least 1 full year. I conveniently started this bodyweight training adventure on New Years and I have truly been enjoying it. And if you've been joining me in this series then I hope you have been learning a lot and are feeling inspired by your own fitness journey.
As this bodyweight training series continues it seems to have evolved and I am feeling drawn towards the idea of sharing with you more of my full workouts.

snap (16).jpg

Leg day using only bodyweight doesn't mean it's going to be an easy workout. Here you will see all of the exercises to be done and how they all come together in a set.
Perform all exercises in order for the recommended # reps/time

Leg Day Workout
Alternating Pistol Squat 10 each leg
Sissy Speed Squats 1min
Sissy Pulsing Squat 1min
Squat Walk 1min
Pulse Split Jump Lunge 1min
Rest 2min max
Repeat 4-6 times


So far I have discovered that in order to get the same pump in my legs and the same amount of muscle soreness that I used to have with weight lifting, I need to make some specific considerations on what exercises I choose to do and which training methods I use. I have been focusing on advanced leg exercises and using training techniques such as high rep ranges, more time under tension, single leg exercises to have more resistance on 1 leg and lastly the speed of each rep - fast/plyometrics or super slow. So far this seems to be working out so far and it is also encouraging me to do more cardio than I had done with weight lifting.

We are all privileged to have a free lifetime gym membership through bodyweight exercises. These exercises can be done anywhere and with diligent practice can be mastered!
Thank you for joining me on my Calisthenics Journey, I hope you feel inspired to appreciate the potential of your own body


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center