Get into shape again

Short before becoming 50 years old, I am thinking about a lot of things. Half the life is over, from now on it goes downhill and I still do not feel so old. I have already seen people die in that age. So it is time to think about getting back into shape and staying young for a while. There are a lot of people, who give advice to guys in my age. A lot of Youtube videos, and some Youtube stars show, that there is a chance to get in shape again. The last time, I was in shape, was around 30-35. I ate much less, and felt better. Then the career came to my life and I never visited the gym again. On the Internet, I met fitness systems, which could be sent home, I saw people loosing weight, showing their whole body transformation on YouTube. That is courage. I do not know if I have the courage to show me. I am far too heavy. The question now is, how to start and keep the energy until the end? I watched some videos from a guy named Scooby. A Bodybuilder around 50. That gives me hope. I decided to get back in shape in the oldschool way. Without the gym, or just with a little help from the gym. I will use oldschool tools, bodyweight and some other methods. I will not cut wood-pieces, but it will come close to that.

Oldschool, like in the old days.

What does oldschool means? I will use tools, people used, before gyms came up. At least in Europe. The first thing is strandpulling. Using an old Chest Expander to gain muscles is fun. You can do that also at home and You can gain a lot of muscles with that. I remember that thing to be my first workout equipment. I used it every day and became stronger. I was 13 years old and that was the only device I could afford. Today there are a lot of variations of that thing on the market. I choose one with tubes. Rubber cables are strong enough for me. You pull the cables in every possible direction. I will do that, also to get some memories.

The second device I will use is the Bullworker. Invented in Germany in the 1960ties. Even Ali and Bruce Lee used it, according to historical articles. At least they did commercials for the device. Today you can but it regular or you can try to find it at flee markets and garage sales. Most people buy it and get rid of it, than place it in the cellar and forget about it. They put these devices away and forgot about them. Going into the gym seems better and more appropriate, if you want to gain muscles. I will try out, if that is the truth. Is a machine better, only because it is bigger? Are free weights better, than a chest-expander and strandpulling? The third device I will try out are rubber based cables. You can get these in every weight class. From 5 kilos for Pilates to 50 kilos for heavy duty exercises. A 50 year old has to do more reps and less weight, people telling in those videos. I have to think about the movie Rocky Balboa. Rocky became old with me too. He was my role model as I was 16. I watched Rocky III at that time. Now I am getting 50 and Rocky still is on the big screen. Let´s produce some hurting bombs- but be careful with the joints. That is the message. I want to become in shape again. I do not want to involve a doctor. Isometric devices such as Bullworker, Isokinator and Steel Bow are good for elder people. To be honest, these devices are magic. Because of memories, because of the funny commercials in the past. These are strongman tools. Lets give them a chance.
The diet is also very important. I will not exaggerate, not only rice and chicken come to the plate. I do not want to go on stage. I will post about my journey on this blog. Let´s begin.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now