A clutch BACKFIRE from my opponent! [SPLINTERLANDS]

Riftwing-Cover-Final.jpg

Got backfired at the last second... Ouch!

Back to Gold


Having been unable to access Gold leagues once last season because of a lack of Power, the itch of playing in Gold again pushed me to rent 30k more CP for a day this weekend.

On the market, there was a card offering exactly the 30k CP I needed; the Mermaid Healer. At a cost of over 600CP per DEC, I knew I could afford to rent it for a day or two and have a little fun in Gold again.

This card comes directly with Triage, so I thought to myself that I could even test the "double Triage + Taunt strategy" by combining it with the Spirit Hoarder and Wave Brood I freshly bought.

The battle


Rulesets: Noxious Fumes + Stampede
Mana Cap: 54
League: Gold III

On mobile:
https://m.splinterlands.io/#/battle/game/process/sl_a0a84b3d5a86bd69750d73adef189c28

On desktop:
https://splinterlands.com?p=battle&id=sl_a0a84b3d5a86bd69750d73adef189c28&ref=tt88

Riftwing - Forgotten One - Start.jpg

In the following battle, I decided to play it a bit too defensive.

In high mana battles, we often encounter Sand Worm as a key unit. I thought I would see it on the opposite side, and that's the reason why I placed the Living Lava with its Shield on the backline.

In hindsight, I should certainly have gone with Sand Worm myself instead of Living Lava to take over my opponent's Riftwing. The difference in speed could have still been problematic though.

Riftwing - 50.jpeg

Riftwing - 60.jpeg

According to splintertools.io, I would have had over a 60% chance of winning instead of the 50/50 of the original lineup. In the end, it is Riftwing that "unexpectedly" defeated the Forgotten One!

Riftwing - Stats.png

I thought the win was mine when the two faced each other at the very end of the battle. But, I hadn't paid much attention to Riftwing having the Backfire ability. When the Forgotten One missed its hit, I was simply speechless.

Riftwing - Forgotten One - End.jpg

Well played @sharkgirl69!

I hope you've enjoyed this battle.
See you in the next one!

Thomas


For new players interested in joining this amazing game, you can support me by using the following referral link (at no extra cost to you!):

https://splinterlands.com?ref=tt88

Thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment