I Was On TV! - Velocity Skateboarding!

IMG_6455 copy.jpg

Couple of summers ago, I had an interesting opportunity to be a part of a short mini documentary series called Velocity Skateboarding. It all started with Prairie Rush, a longboard race and slide jam that Scam Skate and me put on. The event brought out some of the local Minnedosa residents, Scotty Gwyer showed up with a camera, and from there we got to know each other.

Scotty was working with Shaw TV to film snowboarding here in Manitoba, when he moved over to Bell TV, and was offered the chance to do something else in the summer, while he waited for the snow to fall again. He then approached me with the idea of filming our longboarding community, How We Roll, and I proposed that we go to BC for a part of it. I knew that as much as it is inspiring to have made a longboard community in a flat place where longboarding isn’t popular, I knew it wasn’t going to create the most exciting content. I also really wanted to pay my respects to the larger longboarding community, which was the reason I was so determined to do what I do.

Episode #1 Dancing With Daryl

We wanted to try to cover all styles of longboarding, as well as cover the diversity of our community. Though it's a bit hard to get a large turn out for some of our dancing gatherings, plus it was still pretty early in the season, I managed to get some people to show up for the cameras. I roped in some friends, and got them to bring their kids to come learn some tricks. I even managed to get Scotty, who is primarily a snowboarder, to learn a trick in one day.

Come Back To See The Full Series Breakdown

Of course you can watch the whole series right away, but I will be providing a little write up of the back story of each episode. So check back soon to see the next episode!

Keep Your Eyes Peeled For New Members!

Onboarding is starting to happen in The Longboard Hive! Make sure you give them a good welcome so they tell their friends how great the Hive community is! Not only are they bringing some exciting content, but these friends of mine are some OG members of the longboarding global community. So this could open up a flood of new members, and hopefully lead to my dream of sponsoring a longboard race using Hive!

@chasejohnson - OG, Organizer of outlaw racing in Vancouver, key member of Coast Longboarding & Team Pizza, creator of great clothing, awesome person, and father.

@offaxis - OG, another key Coast Longboarding member, drone pilot, and member of Team Glacial Gold ( great story, I'll let him tell it ).

@JordanSoegard Still waiting for verification. Also OG Coast member, part of Team Yardwaste, world traveler, and more.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center