A Shirt on Sunday: A Star Wars Story

42 years ago I saw the original Star Wars: A New Hope as an 11 year old. That was a great time to see it. Of course I saw the sequels too and loved them. Some years later we had the prequels which were something of a disappointment. We had not waited all that time for trade negotiations. There were some terrible characters and some dreadful acting, but a few good sequences. I did not even see Revenge of the Sith at the cinema. Another decade rolls by and we get what is supposed to be the final set. The Force Awakens was a bit of a re-run of the original. The Last Jedi was a bit crap. How could they do on winding it all up?

Well it seems I have a different opinion to @hanshotfirst who has given his view. We went for pizza before an afternoon showing in Letchworth. Of course I wore one of my Star Wars shirts. I have a few, but I do not think I had one when I was a kid.

Shirt

The movie gets straight on with the action and it barely lets up for nearly two and half hours. What we do not get are pointless sequences that do not move the plot forward. J.J. Abrams did a good job on keeping the audience engaged. Apparently Carrie Fisher was going to have a big role in this episode, but as she died they had to make do with some old out-takes to slot her in. This is done fairly seamlessly. It flits around lots of locations, some of them familiar. We get a few new characters, but lots of old ones make appearances too. I have to say some of those made me smile and I shed a tear or two. I have not been into reading all the extra books and comics based around this universe, but the movies have been one of the longest running things in my life and I have an attachment to them.

The effects are pretty amazing with nice use of puppets and some dressed-up animals rather than just CGI. There is even an additional cute droid.

I will not go too much into the plot as I do not want to spoil it for anyone. Some dedicated fans may have issues with the plot, but I do not worry too much about inconsistencies. There's a big evil and the good guys have to work together to defeat it. That is what you get from such movies.

I really hope they can leave it at that now, but no doubt Disney want to milk the franchise forever more. I have not seen the new Mandalorian series as we do not have Disney+ here and I may not bother with it. It looks like they have more shows planned.

I was there with the family and we all left pretty happy with it. In the end it is entertainment and we were entertained.

May the Force be with you, always.

The geeky guitarist and facilitator of the 10K Minnows Project.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now