How I’m Getting Scammed by Photographers

➡️ UPDATE - Paying a Photographer's Worth



My story Making a Living with an Instagram Famous Cat got a lot of exposure. Now photographers are now trying to charge me more money than they charge others because of it. They also feel entitled for me to give them exposure as a photographer in Albert’s Instagram because he has over 550,000 followers.




We scheduled a shoot this afternoon with another photographer we found on Craigslist. Tarek Richy Photography advertises “Pay what you can photography” on Craigslist where he doesn’t set a price.




His listing says:

“I believe in offering a fair priced service where I allow my clients to pay what they can. I do not depend on a set price for my service but instead ask customers to pay what they feel the product/service is worth to them.”

The Tarek Richey Facebook page profile photo LITERALLY displays “Pay What You Can”










=





He leaves me stranded without a photographer at the last minute…









Then after he reads my article he thinks it’s okay to charge me $100/hr for the rescheduled shoot.












I get it. Photographers think they’re the ones doing all the hard work and providing the costly equipment. And they think I just have to spend a minute or two posting it on Instagram.

Let me break it down.



Influencer campaign pay ≠ (1) 45 minute photo shoot with Lightroom batch edit sent afterwards



Influencer campaign pay =


  • Continuous work and financial investment in marketing campaigns over the years to get Albert to over 550,000 Instagram followers.
  • Hunting for a good photographer
  • (1) 45 minute photo shoot where either I or my husband, usually both, have to assist the photographer for the entire duration of the shoot. Sometimes we even have to guide the photographer on what angles and lighting is better. As well as provide the shooting venue.
  • Combing through the bulk of batch edited photos sent afterwards to select the usable ones. Reediting the selected photos because they are over contrasted, too dark, etc. Resizing to fit ideal crop for Instagram post or Instagram story.
  • Reviewing sometimes 2–3 pages of client requirements of what talking points hashtags are required for the post captions before writing the captions.
  • Submitting the photos and additional videos (that we take ourselves) with accompanying captions to the client.
  • Rewriting the captions even after they’re approved because the client/agency decided they wanted to go a different direction with the captions.
  • Setting up the application permissions for the client/agency.
  • Scheduling the posts to go live during the different required days and times with the link in bio.
  • Directly after 24 hours of the posts go live, downloading the individual segments with the campaign tags/hashtags and screenshots of the views of each one and uploading them to client/agency.
  • After the campaign is completed, answering and sending any additional campaign materials.





Photography is an expensive and valuable craft. But so is marketing.






#share2steem
https://steemit.com/@christinelook


A big thank you to @thekittygirl for sponsoring this post!


Christine Look

Lifestyle Enthusiast. Owner of Instagram famous @albertbabycat


Posted from Medium via Share2Steem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center