Riding that train, high on Makina

It was a pretty sleepless Tuesday night, going into Wednesday morning (June 12). There were a lot of thoughts racing through my mind due to my departure set for early Wednesday afternoon. It seemed appropriate that dawn brought its light to a foggy Maritime day, considering my mission was to procure a boat.

Smiling at that thought while gazing out the window, there was still time to roll over and grab a few more winks before rising for breakfast and last minute packing. Then it was off to the train station to catch my ride to Ontario and awaiting Makina.

20150531_152039.jpg

My ticket was 'Sleeper Class'. There was a comfortable cushioned bench which was turned into a sleeper, with a curtain for privacy, at night. To my surprise it turned out that meals were included in the fare.

There seemed a lot of foreign visitors on board. During my luncheon meal my table company was a very like-able Icelandic student from Dalhousie University in Halifax. He had just completed a music degree, majoring in voice, and was on his way to Ottawa to renew an expired passport. We had interesting table talk on politics and world affairs.

He joined my table again for a late supper. Additionally we had a landed resident from China who after graduating from Waterloo University in mathematics was working in the insurance industry with risk assessment. He said he would like to become a citizen however China does not allow dual nationalities. My advice was to keep his Chinese passport as they seem the ones on the rise. Maybe it was just my bitterness of my pandemic treatment which was talking.

After a wonderful night's sleep which felt like rocking in a cradle, it was up again early for breakfast. It was my pleasure to be joined by an interesting female English solicitor; as opposed to a barrister which she corrected me on. We had an insightful discussion into European politics with emphasis on the ramifications of Brexit. She had some very interesting insights which only a non-Brexit citizen could have. For one thing it was news to me that the voting had gone heavily down age demographics. Older folks 'for' and younger folks against. It also was news to me how close then final results had been.

It was then back to the sleeper which was not yet made up, to get in a little nap. Not long after that we were in Montreal running late (largely because passenger trains take a second fiddle to cargo ones) and a quick change to the train which carried me to Toronto.

20240613_132948.jpg

On that lag of the journey a wonderful lady, originally from PEI, kept me entertained with sea tales from her father. He had been a fisherman on the island; even building his own fishing boats. We also spoke on a wide range of other topics; from tics to grandchildren.

Finally Toronto came into view by late afternoon. It was then my final stretch of the journey to Scarborough, where Makina is said to be 'on the hard'.

Finding a hotel/motel somewhere near its marina was no small feat. The housing crisis seems worse in Toronto than Halifax. Many motels have become full time 'by the month' rentals and the rest were overflowing their capacity. After nearly a $50 taxi ride we finally found accommodation. Certainly not the Ritz but this old soul is travel weary and could probably sleep on tacks.

With that uncomfortable thought allow me to bid you adieu with hopes of meeting my new girlfriend in the 'morrow.

Sweet dreams, me hearties!

-------
A chronological listing of my sailing posts:
@novacadian/novacadian-s-blog-index-sailing

makina.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments