Resting up while prepping for tomorrow

Even last night's solid sleep found me still feeling tired this morn8ng. Perhaps drained may better explain it. With lots of good leftovers from Loti's great meals there was lots of snacking and napping throughout the day. There were some duties that could not wait.

The main one, being, to remove the mainsail and bag it. Doing it solo was a bit of a work out. Especially since its attachment to the boom was partially jury-rigged and involved fighting with some knots. Then carrying it loose yet bundled to dry land and folding it. Then finally bagging it and carrying it back on board. The entire process had me ready for my second left over meal.

20240818_184242.jpg

Its removal from the mast and its bagging were interspersed with a nice nap. After the bagging another nap was had, so my system was drained of rest and nourishment. This is something that will need close attention going forward.

At least tomorrow's most important chore is now ready with the sail now off the mast.

20240818_184255.jpg

'''A lovely shot of my finger'''

An alarm went off during my after bagging snooze. It was the one that detects propane fumes. Out of the birth on a run.

The propane tank had been turned off after use it seemed and there was no oder that my nose could detect. Thought it wise to contact Jason about it. He said that the alarms on board will go off if the batteries are dangerously low, which seemed a wise safety feature. Started up the engine to charge them and turned off the AC current as the DC current of the solar panels should keep them topped up.

20240818_193817.jpg

My guess is that the extension chord, which looks kind of ruff, has given up the ghost. Will check it with the meter a little later and get a new one if need be tomorrow.

In late afternoon James, Pierre's friend, gave me a voice call and we had a nice chat about convoying down to Halifax together. Although Pierre has said nothing exactly to either of us James, like me, has a feeling that he may be reluctant to go.

My feeling arose when he has not yet replied to yesterday's text as well as him mentioning Friday night that he only has a 2 week time windows to give to the passage. We both realized, after taking 3 days to cover the 150 knotical miles from Scarborough, that Nova Scotia will take a while.

If my repairs take a week or so then my best case scenario would see me in Halifax by early September. This could be slowed by finding crew. They would be critical for permission to use the locks. Once past Montreal my confidence will be greater with less coastal and small channel navigating that even a solo sail with well reefed sails may be something to consider. There will be lots of time during the passage to Montreal to consider such things.

First things first. That will be to get Makina prepped and repairs made to weaknesses exposed from Sea Trial from Scarborough. Tomorrow will be the beginning of that phase. So until such time...

May the wind be at your back!

-------
A chronological listing of my sailing posts:
@novacadian/novacadian-s-blog-index-sailing

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment