Does this sound like a day of rest

Allow me to let you, my readers, decide if a down day is required after 4 nice days of sailing. Dang right! The idea was not to do a complete write off of the day yet to pace myself and organize things a bit. After a late start and a shower, who should be working a few boats over but Jose, the diesel mechanic. Explaining that the engine parts were promised for Thursday we both thought it wise to schedule next Monday to finish things up which would give time to correct anything should the Thursday delivery fall short. There is also the closing of my property in Halifax to organize before the end of the month as well.

Chris, the previous owner, texted me asking if Saturday would be good for me instead of tomorrow. Replied that it would work very well as that would leave me the rest of the week to organize something with my lawyer.

Finally there was an email waiting from Kate the Mooring Manager asking when the visitor's slip would be needed. Replied that we were looking towards the end of the month for a launch and that it was discussed with the crane operator, Craig, who felt he could get me in the water any time providing the marina's office green lighted it.

There was also an email from Jason suggesting a couple of weekends in August that both he and his partner might join me on Makina for a vacation/instructional weekend. We could sail the start of my passage, perhaps taking us towards if not through the locks. We talked about Ann possibly joining us as well. Hope it would not be too cramped for everyone. Thought Jason and his partner could take the forward V berth and Ann and myself could do Paper, Rocks and Scissors to see who get the double when the table is taken down and who gets that little berth in the stern of the cabin which has ones legs down under the cockpit and just starboard of the engine compartment.

With all that organizing out of the way it was decided to head up the bluff to get some supplies. Did a stop at EggMart for a very yummy French Benedict. That translates to French toast with two pouched eggs under benedict sauce on top.

french-benidict.jpg

If you are a regular reader you will have guessed the next stop. The indica chocolate dispensary of course!

Then it was off to the No Frills grocery store for needed supplies and then homeward.

galley-provisions.jpg

There were the more mundane duties that needed doing...

laundry-day.jpg

At the heat of the day there is only one sensible place to be and that is under my sweet dual fan system in the forward cabin.

fan-system.jpg

My feeling is that launch is not that long away, though passage preparations will be ongoing.

Later in the evening my lawyer called. It was reported that his instructions had been acted on earlier in the evening by downloading WhatsApp and getting my Daughter's preferred email address and telephone number. The only thing missing for our remote closing would be a scanner. The idea is to ask the Marina's office if the one they have could be used in this process.

He was going to contact my contact at the Corporation that wants to buy us out and try to arrange a good time to all get together for the closing. Hopefully it has not been postponed too long.

Tomorrow is another day and soon an era will be closed, as my home for over 30 years is sold.

May the wind be at your back!

-------
A chronological listing of my sailing posts:
@novacadian/novacadian-s-blog-index-sailing

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments