Busy day up the Bluffs

Last night was a later than usual night for me. At about my normal bedtime there seemed a lot of activity by a group of people speaking Indian or perhaps they were from Sri Lanka. There was a large group of at least a dozen people. They were there to remove the boat beside Makina.

It was obvious it was a dine and dash as this late at night it is highly unusual to be moving a fairly large vessel as that. They tried backing their trailer directly under the vessel and the back blocks looked like they were going to fall back, which brought out a squeal from me. The leader of the group did not like that and suggested it may be time for me to go sleep. That was something that was not going to happen until the boat was moved or crashed off its blocks.

It took some time yet they finally got it on the trailer using something which we used to call a come along in the logging business. In the end there was nothing to do buy apologies to the fellow for doubting him and we separated in good terms and an empty berth were his boat had been.

empty-berth.jpg

This all meant that my sleep went a little later than normal yet had time to have a shower and coffee before business hours Halifax time. There was still no email from my lawyer so gave him a call. He was not overly pleased with yesterday's scan and the fact that a fellow at the Marina's office witnessed in the place where the corporation representative was to sign.

This brought out a little reaction with me as the instructions of this whole exercise had been somewhat lacking in my opinion. My lawyer was reminded that the house had been my home for 30 years and this process was something practically new to me.

He suggested that the Marina's Office be checked to see if they had any White Out, and if so to white out the signatures from yesterday. This was done. While at the office, checked the deliveries chest and my engine parts had arrived! Brought them back with the whited out contract. Raised my lawyer on WhatsApp upon my return and he watched as the contracct was re-signed. There were other things on the contract that needed changing and initialing on my part as well.

The corporation had asked that the closing date be extended, as they would have to do some due diligence like an environmental assessment. We changed the closing date to August 30th. This bodes well for me as my expectation is that the housing market, here in Canada, will be going through a fairly substantial correction going towards year's end. My hope is that the cash we get from our sale will buy a lot more for the money in September.

housing-graph.jpg

Source : visualcapitalist.com

Anyway, only time will answer all of that.

As my thought was to visit the Rigging Shoppe today, to turn in my outdated Visual Distress Signals for new ones, it seemed a good plan to visit Staples along the way to get the scans done for my lawyer. It didn't feel right to bother the Marina's Office about it again. They had already gone beyond the call of duty in my opinion.

The bus driver that picked me up at the bottom of the bluffs gave a lengthy limit on a transfer for me. It allowed me hours of transit time. First stop to Kennedy Station and then caught the 54 to Midwest Rd; the location of the Rigging Shoppe.

The fellow at the Rigging Shoppe took the old hand held flares and exchanged them for 6 that were on sale for a 1/3rd of the price due to one year having passed on their 4 year legal shelf life. He said that with a VHF on board that only 3 flares for the gun would be required; yet suggested keeping the 6 out of date flares as they could still be used in an emergency. Note to self :More bullets to fight off Gaspe Pirates. 😎🏴‍☠️

Headed back towards my normal area when heading up the bluffs. Where the dispensary and the No Frills grocery store are located. Of course stocked up on indica chocolate and being pretty hungry at this point had a stop into the EggMart for two slice of french toast with two slices of bacon on the side.

french-toast.jpg

Source : publicdomainpictures.net

Followed by an indica chocolate washed down with perked coffee, not my instant micro'ed drink. Note ot self : Get a kettle and coffee maker and start using the propane stove!

Rode the Bluffer's Park bus home, feeling full and productive.

Got the scans off to my lawyer with an apology if my tone sounded grumpy this morning. Touched base with my Daughter to give her an update on the closing date.

Did a lot of currating (nice way of saying getting caught up in some drama) on the HIVE chain.

Feeling kind of tired, so will close things for now.

May the wind be at your back!

-------
A chronological listing of my sailing posts:
@novacadian/novacadian-s-blog-index-sailing

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now