It's getting serious, guys!

Allright, my sailing and non sailing friends, it's getting serious now...
Despite I didn't keep you updated here on Steemit, I posted some things on my Instagram Account, so please follow me there.
Unless I do not find an easy and fast way to put content online on the Steemit Network it's quite a pain to make updates here. Maybe you guys can name me a way where I can easily post from my smartphone?

Anyhow... back to topic - because that's why I am writing this for. I have news for you about my trip.

First of all I want to share with you my actual pain points, things I am concerned about, things I need to decide, I need to resolve.

  1. First of all there is the big question what I am going to eat on the trip that fuels me with energy and does not cause fatigue. I mean, the hardest part will be the sleep cycle and the (theoretical) watch for 24 hours non-stop.
  2. The choice of the boat and the equipment
  3. The film equipment and the setup on boat - a thing I do not know anything about right now. But this topic is still far away.

On every point I will make a own post. Probabely the first will be the boat. Since I just have come back from a trip to the north of Europe where I checked some boats I have to do some research and calculation now.
I found a pretty cool steel boat. It's a WIBO 930 and 30 feet long.


Maybe you as a professional sailor could check out the posting and give me your feedback about what you think?
That would be awesome! Here is the link to it: https://www.ebay-kleinanzeigen.de/s-anzeige/blauwasser-yacht-langfahrt-weltumsegelung-aries-2-beiboote/701341419-211-9476.

To make a long story short: other alternatives I checked out are more or less in a good condition as-well. I visited some boats of the model Hallberg-Rassy Monsun 31 and belong the others there are a Deerberg Saphir III of 1974 and a Elvström Blue Dane 32 of 1979.
All boats are just sailed in the Baltic Sea and lecking things for an ocean crossing. Even in every bilge there was some water... but that seems to be a normal thing even though theoretically it should be as dry as a bone.
And last but not least: a cemented steel keel on the Wibo- come on... my biggest concern about sailing over the Atlantic (the part from Portugal to Barbados) is to get hit by a floating container (well, or a freighter which is more likely).

So now it's time for a decision I have to deal with for the whole trip and maybe for the next couple of years. Who knows where the right boat can take me to?

That's why I would love to hear from you! Just put your opinion of your ideal blue water yacht into the comment section and let me know what you think about the WIBO 930.
Do you think it gets heated up under the sun that it causes some comfort issues? Or is it to small? Or even to "perfect" - that something needs to be wrong with this deal? Let me know it in the comments!

Cheers and all the best,
your atlanticmatt

PS: Do not forget to give me a follow and to check out my Instagram Account for the latest updates!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now