The Old Dog Asks: Have You Been Ripped Off Yet Today?


Thirsty? How About an Ounce (about 30 ml) of Water For $.20?

Today I was driving home to Ticino from Luzern and I pulled over to a highway stop to buy a bottle of water. The cheapest bottle that I found was about $3.20 for half a liter (about 16 ounces)!  That works out to about $.20 for a shot glass worth!

Sure, Charge us More, But Why Do You Have to Kill Us?

Ok fine, I expected to pay more than I would at a grocery store which would have been anywhere from between $.30-.80 cents! How about double? Maybe triple? Naw, that's peanuts, how about five times as much? That sounds about right!


Sip it like a fine liquor because you sure paid for it! Above is the actual bottle that I paid $3.20 for. It was the cheapest one that they had!

Why Are Prices so High at Airports And Highway Stops?

  • Basically you're a hostage in those places. There is nowhere else to buy, so take it or leave it!
  • The business owners who rent the stores are also hostages. Their rents are higher take it or leave it!
  • Supply and demand. There are lots of hungry and bored people walking around in airports! Solution? Pay through the nose!
  • Delivering food supplies to airports is tricky business. Deliveries need to be made on off peak hours and are subject to tight security checks! EXPENSIVE!

Here Are Some of My Personal Experiences!

  • Recently I missed my flight from Frankfurt to Milan after traveling all night from Toronto. The airline gave all of the passengers a food voucher of 10 Euros to buy breakfast but guess what? That wasn't even enough to buy a coffee and a croissant!
  • I've been to airports in many different countries and the high prices seem to be universal apart from Italy. At the airport in Milan I can get a cappuccino and a croissant for the same price as I can outside the airport! Wow!


All of This Had me Thinking About This 40 Second Clip From Seinfeld!


Do they even have any idea what the prices are on the outside?


What About You?

  • Have you been subject to rip off pricing?
  • What have you experienced at airports and highway stops
  • Do you think that they should try and be just a little more reasonable?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about being ripped off today!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will do my best to upvote it with some of my 41,000 plus Steem Power! 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now