Rucking - A short term review on immediate results

Weeks ago I posted about why I started rucking, I rambled on about gravity or something.

IMG_20170810_160456.jpg

Rucking involves wearing a rucksack with weights in it. You walk... and that is about it. Our bodies were designed for walking and carrying which is one of the reasons why rucking has such amazing health benefits. It fixes posture, helps with back pain, knee pain, digestion, etc etc.

After rucking for some time now I must say my body has never felt better and I have noticed stark improvements in posture, strength, and overall well-being of the musculokeletal system. The most difficult thing was getting the right balance of rucking and ruckovery. I took a ruckovery week and did very light rucking and I now feel like I could bounce up walls.

The negatives have been that I have been smashing lots of things recently. This happens quite often when I jump up a few levels in strength. I need to retune the amount of stimulus required for muscle movement, because the regular amount of "push" needed to open a door becomes a mighty buddha palm strike shattering the door against the wall attack. Juggling and dancing help me restore hand-power eye coordination as well as yoga and pilates. Unfortunately with rucking, as soon as you adjust to the weight and your ruck bag feels like feathers, you just need to add more weight, meaning that strength keeps growing.

I have upped my game by aiming for the every day or so 200 press ups with the ruck on.

I did this for one week and then stopped. I'm going to wait a few weeks until I adapt more to the training... or maybe one more ruckovery week of light rucking.

If you are going to ruck, use weight suited to you, and start small first. Wear a bag with thick straps and suitable footwear. Carry water.

IMG_20170826_145338.jpg

30/10 IT'S THAT GOOD!


@RiskDebonair
Rucker

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now