Let's Review: Avengers: Infinity War

Spoiler Free

I'll start this off by saying that I'm not exactly some big fan of the MCU. I like, at best, four Marvel movies. However, this movie is definitely one of the few I enjoy.

My main issue with most MCU movies is always the villain. Marvel always lack in the villain department but I can gladly say that Thanos is an AMAZING villain.

Does he look a little like a purple Homer Simpson? Yes. Jokes aside though, he was amazing as a villain in this movie. I'd go ahead and say that this movie is not about the Avengers. This movie is all about Thanos. Learning who he is, what he's all about and why he does the things he does. While you may not agree with him, you see what he is all about, why he wants to do the stuff he does and for some people, you might even agree with him. I'll admit that at parts, I found myself nodding along to what he was saying and agreeing with his logic. Not all the time. Not saying he is a good guy; he isn't. But he's a logical villain. Someone who truly believes that he is doing the right thing, no matter how hard it may be.

Another complaint I have with Marvel movies is the lack of a feeling of dread. No threat, no weight to what you're watching. In this movie however, that is not the case. Straight off the bat the stakes are set. This constant feeling of 'anyone can die here' is present in this movie and it's honestly fantastic.

I will admit that when I went into this film expecting nothing too crazy or insane. I expected Marvel to play it safe, to barely kill anyone and to just axe off one or two minor characters. Boy was I wrong. I was very, very wrong.

Whether the events of this movie remain through out the future of Marvel or are undone in the future is up for debate, but actually doing them in the first place is a good start.

Infinity War was a pleasantly surprising movie. An event to witness to say the least. To me, at least, the film is a solid 8.5/10.

I could easily talk about all the things the film did. Bringing together so many different heroes and movies and all of those things, but you all know this. I simply wanted to say what this movie did that made it work compared to the rest of the MCU. To see if any other people who are on the fence about Marvel like myself might feel swayed to get check out Infinity War.

Final note, Tom Holland is AMAZING as Spiderman.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now