Carrot Cashew Blender Bread (Grain Free

Continuing the theme of deconstructing recipes, this post aims to do three things:

• Share a new (whole food, grain free, Paleo, GAPS, etc) bread recipe
• Share a new way of mixing up the batter
• Help you design your own grain free bread.

This one is Carrot and Cashew, so a variation on both. I might not even have bothered to post it, except that I used a new process. The food processor was in the dish washer, which I’d just turned on, and I wanted to make something for lunch. So I thought I’d try the blender. It worked really well, probably even better then the food processor. The cashews came out more finely blended. The carrots were much finer as well.

So here’s what went into the blender:

• 6 eggs
• 1 cup milk kefir (you could also use yoghurt, or extra carrot)
• 1 very large carrot, grated (I was aiming for a cup, but it ended up closer to 2 and was still fine)
• 1 teaspoon sea salt
• 1 heaped baking soda
• 500gm cashews

I blended everything up in one go, but next time will blend everything except the cashews first, then add those. Just to make sure everything is well mixed.

Into a loaf tin lined with baking paper, and into a preheated oven at 150C (300F) for an hour. It also seemed to cook quicker, usually it takes more like an hour and 20 minutes. Or maybe I just accidentally had the oven slightly hotter.

We ate some of it straight away, so there’s not much left for a photo.

Most of my clients are doing GAPS or similar diets, so we're aiming for breads that are based on nuts or seeds, rather than starches. Yes, I know cashews aren’t botanically nuts but functionally they can be used the same.

So let’s look at what the commonalities are for making bread that doesn’t have grains, or any starchy flours, in it

EGGS
• Without gluten or gums, we need something to hold the bread together, so the eggs are very important, and I use 6 for each loaf. I haven’t done much experimenting with egg substitutes, so am not going to recommend any here. But maybe @stephmckenzie will do some experimenting and let us know how it goes??

“FLOUR”
• For cashew bread, I use 500gms, as weighing is a more accurate way to measure loose nuts. That comes to about 3 cups, before grinding. If you wanted to use other nuts, try a similar quantity.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center