Rosemary Chewy Bread

Over the years, I experienced using different natural readily available ingredients from my garden to give a regular bread a chewy texture. I have found the ingredient and would like to share it with you.

The secret ingredient is starchy root crop such as potato, sweet potato, or my favorite one: malanga!

Whole Food

As I have mentioned in my first recipe blog, I like to use as much whole food as possible for its health benefit because whole food especially skins and seeds are packed with natural vitamins and phytochemicals. Therefore, I don't peel the potato, sweet potato, or malanga at all. I boil them first, then puree them with skin on!

Fresh Ingredients

In addition, I use the freshest ingredients possible. I buy wheat berries and flaxseeds and grind them right before I use them. Otherwise, nutrients decrease rapidly after the wheat berries and flaxseeds are broken down.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (optional)
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seeds (optional)
  • 2 tablespoons raw sugar or honey
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon yeast (omit it if you use sourdough)
  • leaves from 2 rosemary sprigs
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup pureed boiled potato, sweet potato, or malanga

Directions

  • Mix all ingredients
  • Knead it into a dough and shape it
  • Let it rise for 90 minutes or double in size
  • Bake it at 350F for 40 minutes

007.JPG

Thank you for cooking with me today. I'll see you next time!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now