More Than Soul Food

I could have talked about that particular soup my mum makes for me every time that gets me in that good mood. It's like a soul ritual. It does its magic without asking. But I have this urge to tell you about someone, Mrs Adejo (not real name), who didn't just feed my body with food but also fed my spirit.

As a young novice who was just trying to at least float in the big ocean of the business world, I nearly quit that morning if not for the help of Mrs Adejo.

I had done the first few months at work already, and I was steadily making myself believe that I could get through with time. I had dreams of how I wanted to climb that corporate ladder and make a name for myself.

Like Lagosians will say "I no come Lagos to look uche face" meaning 'I didn't come to Lagos to be distracted but to hustle and make a name for myself'.

But as time went by, I was already drowning from the pressure of consistent and endless deadlines given to me by my bosses and closing of accounts that sometimes didn't tally no matter how hard I tried.

Trust me, I've always dreamt of that job. It was what I wanted, and I was trying so much to stay afloat, but it felt like the rocky waters of the business world were so strong that I was barely holding on.

I can still remember that Monday morning like it's etched in my mind as I walked into the office trying to keep a positive attitude.

"Don't slouch; don't let them think it's overwhelming you", I kept muttering to myself as I made my way to my tiny cubicle packed with paperwork and accounts that needed to be closed.

I stared at my computer and unfinished work. My mind was completely blank at the same time filled with thoughts of how I would carry on. Mentally, I was too tired. The air conditioner was working fine but I was sweating profusely that morning. I tried getting up to get some fresh air when I felt a soft tap on my shoulders.

"Zerah, are you okay?" I heard a soft voice ask.

I looked up from my tiny space to see Mrs Adejo, the head of HR, standing there staring with so much concern in her brown cat-like eyes. She had this blue jacket that matched her trousers. Even though my mind was occupied that morning, I could still tell how costly they looked.

I quickly stood up from my seat, I was tense. That was when I noticed how tall she was. I was barely reaching her shoulders. No wonder her presence always commanded respect.

"I'm fine, Ma'am", I replied, forcing a smile, my voice barely above whispers.

"I never asked you to stand up, my dear,", she said, her eyes still piercing my soul like she was scanning me for something.

She stood there looking at me for some seconds while I had my face buried to the floor, trying to avoid her gaze. Then she said

"Come, my dear. Come with me"

I felt my heart skip a beat. Immediately so many questions flooded my mind. 'Did she find out I'm not fit for the job? Was she going to sack me?' I thought so many things at once.

Hurriedly, I ran after her into her office which was clearly befitting for someone of her status. Although it wasn't much bigger, it was comfortable and felt inviting.

The first thing that hits your nose as you enter from the door is the homely smell of lavender puffing out from the air freshener she had plugged in on a wall socket.

Then when you shut the door, you get drowned in the soft hum from her air-conditioner that kept the room cold and somehow served as a nice background noise for a productive day.

I stood there watching her as she opened up her curtains to let the early morning sunshine penetrate the room. Then she took her seat, swivelling from left to right.

"Sit" she offered, gesturing me to a seat before her table.

Like an obedient kid, I pulled the seat and sat down. My heart was still beating in my chest.

"It's the work isn't it?" She asked.

"No, Ma'am, I'm fine", I lied.

"Calm down. You're not in trouble and you don't have to lie to me. I've been In your position before." She said leaning forward on her desk.

I blinked with no idea of what to say next.

"This is why some organisations need people with experience. But how do people gain experience if they're not given a chance.". She paused and poured me a glass of water.

"I was once like you, timid, scared at first when I got this job. I was terrified to make mistakes, and I didn't want to ask for help because I felt my colleagues would see me like I didn't know what I was doing. But it's okay to ask for help because he who doesn't ask for help loses his way. So, I'm giving you an open cheque; if you don't understand anything, feel free to ask me; I'll help if I can or send you to who can, hmm?" She said,

I nodded "Okay, Ma'am", I replied.

"You're doing well my dear."

"Thank you Ma'am" I appreciated

"You can go back to what you're doing"

I wouldn't lie, her words were soothing. It calmed my stormy seas and fed my empty soul and spirit. I was happy that even in a world like that, someone still sees beyond the office charade and knows we need help. I left her office feeling lighter than before.

"That's the work of an HR", you might say, but with Mrs Adejo, it feels different.

Over the next few weeks, she would walk over to my cubicle and ask how I was fairing with smiles and kind words. Sometimes, she would let me work on some files with her while explaining what each one meant and what needed to be done.

Her presence to me became more of a professional courtesy. I saw her in a new light like a mentor helping me adjust my sails and steer my ship through the raging waters at the workplace. She made me see the potential in me that I couldn't even see myself.

In fact, with time, I found myself feeling more relaxed around her and settling well in the office. I gradually became good at closing accounts and asking for help where I needed help, but at the same time being careful not to look like I didn't have any idea at all about my work.

One day, a few months back, I bumped into Mrs Adejo on the staircase, and after exchanging pleasantries, she jokingly said.

"You've become an expert at your work that you hardly find time to see me these days Zerah." She joked, stretching the last word.

"No, Ma'am, it's not true, Ma'am. You're my boss, and I'm just trying not to overstep my boundaries," I replied respectfully.

She laughed. "I'm your boss, quite true, but I'm still human. Feel free to come around anytime", she said, giving me a soft tap on my shoulders.

Honestly, as I write this today, I realised that sometimes the real soul food we crave isn't the one we dish on a plate, but the little acts of love we dish across to one another. That could be more filling than a well-prepared dish.

Image Source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center