The power of an exchange program.

This publication was also writen in SPANISH and PORTUGUESE.

open_minded.jpg

Fast Company

Whenever I heard or saw someone (whether close to me or not) talk about doing an English exchange, or just talking about this idea in a more general context, I was curious to know what it was actually like to experience an adventure like this. In November 2021 I had this opportunity, and it took years of a lot of hard work and a lot of financial planning to be able to travel to a great city in the interior of Ireland and live there for the next eight months.

Once there, it didn't take long for me to begin to feel immersed in a cultural whirlwind of completely immeasurable proportions. No matter how many people had told me how good it was to do an English exchange or how many television commercials I watched about it, it is only possible to feel everything that is said when there is no absence of this adventure, that is, you need to be outside your comfort zone and be open to new experiences.

Leaving my family, my friends and my job behind was the first big challenge. However, everything that was yet to come was even more challenging: living alone. Until then, I had never had this experience and it was just the first of many other new experiences. At the school where I studied English, I had the incredible chance to meet people from many countries, and with each one of them, I learned lessons that I will certainly never forget.

In summary, the socio-political-cultural aspect fosters the pillar of this experience, which is full of diversity and a lot of tolerance. Customs, traditions, education, ways of thinking and acting totally different from mine fell like a “bomb” into my daily life, and at the beginning I confess that it was a little complicated having to find a way to try to manage all of this while I adapted to a new rhythm of life in another country, but it was rewarding.

After doing this exchange, it was as if I had “aged” about 8 years in 8 months. Soon after, I had the opportunity to travel for 2 months around Europe. This was my first backpacking trip, and I visited 15 more countries. This all reinforced my concept of diversity and tolerance in many aspects, which until then were somewhat limited by the reality in which Brazil is immersed. Ultimately, I can only say that someday I need to experience this again.


El poder de un programa de intercambio.

Cada vez que escuchaba o veía a alguien (sea cercano a mí o no) hablar sobre hacer un intercambio de inglés, o simplemente hablar de esta idea en un contexto más general, tenía curiosidad por saber cómo era realmente vivir una aventura como esta. En noviembre de 2021 tuve esta oportunidad y me llevó años de mucho trabajo duro y mucha planificación financiera poder viajar a una gran ciudad en el interior de Irlanda y vivir allí durante los próximos ocho meses.

Una vez allí, no tardé mucho en empezar a sentirme inmerso en un torbellino cultural de proporciones completamente inconmensurables. Por más que mucha gente me había dicho lo bueno que era hacer un intercambio de inglés o cuantos comerciales de televisión vi al respecto, sólo es posible sentir todo lo que se dice cuando no falta esta aventura, es decir, Necesitas estar fuera de tu zona de confort y estar abierto a nuevas experiencias.

Dejar atrás a mi familia, mis amigos y mi trabajo fue el primer gran desafío. Sin embargo, todo lo que estaba por venir era aún más desafiante: vivir solo. Hasta entonces, nunca había tenido esta experiencia y fue solo la primera de muchas otras experiencias nuevas. En la escuela donde estudié inglés tuve la increíble oportunidad de conocer personas de muchos países y con cada uno de ellos aprendí lecciones que seguramente nunca olvidaré.

En resumen, el aspecto sociopolítico-cultural fomenta el pilar de esta experiencia, llena de diversidad y mucha tolerancia. Costumbres, tradiciones, educación, formas de pensar y actuar totalmente diferentes a la mía cayeron como una “bomba” en mi vida diaria, y al principio confieso que fue un poco complicado tener que buscar la manera de intentar gestionar todo esto. mientras me adapté a un nuevo ritmo de vida en otro país, pero fue gratificante.

Después de hacer este intercambio, fue como si hubiera “envejecido” unos 8 años en 8 meses. Al poco tiempo tuve la oportunidad de viajar durante 2 meses por Europa. Este fue mi primer viaje de mochilero y visité 15 países más. Todo esto reforzó mi concepto de diversidad y tolerancia en muchos aspectos, que hasta entonces estaban un tanto limitados por la realidad en la que está inmerso Brasil. En última instancia, sólo puedo decir que algún día necesito volver a experimentar esto.


O poder de um programa de intercâmbio.

Sempre que eu ouvia ou via alguém (próximo ou não a mim) falar sobre fazer um intercâmbio de Inglês, ou apenas falar sobre essa ideia em um contexto mais geral, eu ficava curioso em saber como era de fato viver uma aventura igual a esta. Em novembro de 2021 eu tive essa oportunidade, e foram anos de muito trabalho árduo e muito planejamento financeiro para conseguir embarcar para uma ótima cidade no interior da Irlanda e morar lá pelos próximos oito meses.

Uma vez chegando lá, não demorou muito para eu começar a me sentir imerso em um turbilhão cultural de proporções totalmente imensuráveis. Não importa quantas pessoas já tivessem me falado o quanto era bom fazer um intercâmbio de Inglês ou quantos comerciais de televisão eu assistisse sobre isso, só é possível sentir tudo o que é dito quando não existe a ausência dessa aventura, ou seja, é preciso estar fora da zona de conforto e estar aberto as novas experiências.

Deixar a minha família, os meus amigos e o meu emprego para trás foi o primeiro grande desafio. No entanto, tudo o que ainda estava por vir era ainda mais desafiador: morar sozinho. Até então, eu nunca tinha vivido essa experiência e ela apenas à primeira de muitas outras novas experiências. Na escola onde eu estudei Inglês, eu tive a incrível chance de conhecer pessoas de muitos país, e com cada uma delas, eu aprendi lições que certamente nunca mais esquecerei.

Em síntese, o aspecto sócio-político-cultural fomenta o pilar dessa experiência, que é repleta de diversidade e bastante tolerância. Costumes, tradições, educações, modos de pensar e agir totalmente diferentes dos meus caíram como uma “bomba” no meu cotidiano, e no começo eu confesso que foi um pouco complicado ter que encontrar uma forma de tentar administrar tudo isso enquanto eu me adaptava a um novo ritmo de vida em outro país, mas foi recompensante.

Depois de ter feito este intercâmbio, foi como se eu tivesse “envelhecido” uns 8 anos em 8 meses. Logo depois, eu tive a oportunidade de viajar por 2 meses pela Europa. Esse foi o primeiro mochilão, e eu conheci mais 15 países. Isso tudo reforçou o meu conceito sobre diversidade e tolerância muitos aspectos, que até então eram um pouco limitados pela própria realidade na qual o Brasil está imerso. Por fim, eu só posso dizer que algum dia eu preciso viver isso novamente.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center