Lendava, Slovenia - where grapes, wine, and good food meet

This time of the year is coming again. Grape picking and wine making season. I was visiting my family, and of course, I had to go with my mom to check on the vineyard and see how the grapes were coming along. I love this time of year, but it’s still unbelievably hot, so the grapes are almost ready to pick. My parents are already panicking because it’s time, and they need to get it done this weekend.

IMG_1920.jpeg

IMG_1921.jpeg

IMG_1919.jpeg

Our vineyard in Lendava, Slovenia, has been in the family for generations. My father inherited it from his parents, and even though it was meant to be just a hobby, it somehow became more like a job. Throughout the year, they’re always keeping an eye on the grapes, watching them ripen and making sure everything is perfect.

IMG_1918.jpeg

IMG_1917.jpeg

IMG_1916.jpeg

It’s so beautiful to see nature at work, how the grapes grow, and how my parents and relatives get excited knowing fresh wine is coming soon. The tradition of grape picking, or "bratva" as we call it, is more than just work. It’s a celebration. Everyone gathers – family, friends – to not only pick grapes but to enjoy the day together. There’s drinking, laughing, and by evening, the singing and dancing begin. If you’re not drunk, trust me, it’s very funny to watch.

IMG_1926.jpeg

IMG_1925.jpeg

IMG_1924.jpeg

IMG_1917.jpeg

Every year, this day is one of the most special for us. We work hard, but the laughter and the memories make it feel like a party. Our vineyard is in such a stunning spot, surrounded by rolling hills and green vines. The fresh air and views make you feel alive, reminding you how lucky you are to be part of this tradition.

IMG_3428.jpeg

But this year, I won’t be there. I’ll miss it, because we’re heading to Split for Hive Fest. It’s a little bittersweet, because while I’m excited about the trip, I’ll miss being in the vineyard with everyone. I know they’ll have a great time, and maybe I’ll raise a glass to them from Split.

And to say a little about the town, Lendava is a super charming little town tucked away in the far eastern corner of Slovenia, right on the borders of Hungary and Croatia. It’s this amazing mix of cultures—Slovenian, Hungarian, and Croatian, which you can see in everything, the food, the buildings, the way people talk, and the traditions. It’s small, but full of life.
One of the main spots in town is Lendava Castle. If you ever get a chance to visit, go there—it’s got a museum inside and gives you an insane view of the hills and vineyards around the area. Plus, Lendava is known for its thermal spas, which are perfect if you just want to relax and chill.

IMG_1933.jpeg

And if you're into good food (who isn’t?), you have to eat at Bella Venezia. It’s this restaurant that mixes Italian dishes with local Slovenian flavors, and trust me, you won’t regret it!
This is why I love coming here, especially during grape-picking season. It’s not just the family tradition but also the beauty of the place that makes it special.

IMG_1932.jpeg

IMG_1929.jpeg

IMG_1915.jpeg

“Family means no one gets left behind or forgotten.” – David Ogden Stiers

With love, @tinabrezpike❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now