GOD'S FAVOURITE IDIOT not mine

image source

spacer_yellow.png

I love Mellisa Mccarthy. That's her on the right side of the image. If you are into the comedy genre... you don't even have to be into comedy for you to recognize that face. She has been a consistent figure in the Hollywood slash Netflix scene. The woman is a star. I can't quite recall the name of the movie but I remember my mind was blown when I saw her movie a few years ago. Ghostbusters I think. OMG. What an enigma.

ABOUT

After being struck by lightning out of nowhere, Clark (played by Ben Falcone) starts to glow. Yup, like a light bulb. All his friends at work begin to wonder if it is someway God-related, and their fears are eventually confirmed. The show is just a season long, and one is not sure there would be a season two, but judging by the ending, everything was in the open, so there is a possibility. It spans eight episodes, each around twenty-five to thirty minutes. There is an early 'L' for the show, lol.

THE BAD

Oh boy, here we go. So this is not the best comedy series to come out of Netflix in 2022 that's for sure. It isn't enjoyable if you ask me. I had high hopes when I saw Mellisa. If you know her, she is this goofy, adult baby (in a good way, lol), that brings out the innate humor in mundane things. It's her forte, Her speech, her act, everything sums up into one perfectly blended work of art BUT this series was disappointing. It lacked any bit of substance or depth, and by that, I mean 'meaning'. The whole point just kept eluding me as a viewer. I mean, what is really the purpose of the protagonist, 'to fight for God, or with God'? The acting is quite bad too, and I couldn't even get a proper "ha ha" moment in all eight episodes. Do you know how bad that is for a comedy series? Just so you don't think I have a loathsome feeling towards them, I mean why would I? or that I have some personal vendetta; According to critics, it is actually ranked seventh in the top ten worst new series of 2022. WOW. That's kinda hard to beat.

THE GOOD

I know you would be wondering, "why write 'the good'..." after criticizing it that much. The thing is, nearly every series or movie with millions of dollars in production almost always has some good in it. It appeals to a certain group of audience. For example, this one has a superstar, Mellisa, xd. The underlining moral lessons are there. I don't know man. That's all I got.

STREAM OR SKIP

This screams SKIP, but I still feel this one is a tad subjective. It's just so ordinary, and underwhelming that for someone like me who always sets the bar high with comedy shows and series, I was awestruck. I am not going to lie, it had its moments, but the logic was always flawed and that always force "plot compensation". I don't know folks. Go see it, and make of this what you will.

Thank you for reading my movie review-ish. This one is how I saw the movie. Do tell me if you think otherwise, I might have missed something or even misinterpreted it. Do check it out if you haven't. Cheers.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center