Ukrainian borscht

I'm still taking photos and not cooking much. (Here on HIVE, not in real life.) I don't even remember when I published my last cooking article here. Let's fix that.

Follow-up question: what am I going to cook?

Pořád jen fotím a málo vařím. (Tady na HIVE, ne v reálu.) Ani nepamatuju, kdy jsem tady publikoval poslední článek o vaření. Tak to napravíme.

Kontrolní otázka: co budu vařit?

Beef and pork, beetroot, cabbage, carrots... You guessed it by the ingredients: it's Ukrainian borscht.
And since my cooking is traditionally optimized for labor and time, I'll use a slow cooker. Cut the meat into chunks, shred the cabbage into noodles, grate the beets and carrots. I used half a kilo of meat from each, and the vegetables proportionately. Salt pepper, sweet paprika, allspice, bay leaf, a bit of pureed tomatoes - also proportionately. I piled everything into the slow cooker at night, turned it on - and went to bed.

Hovězí a vepřové maso, červená řepa, zelí, mrkev... Podle surovin jste to jistě uhádli: Bude to ukrajinský boršč.
A protože moje vaření je tradičně optimalizované na pracnost a čas, použiju pomalý hrnec. Maso nakrájet na kousky, zelí na nudličky, řepu a mrkev nastrouhat. Masa jsem použil půl kila od každého, zeleniny tak nějak přiměřeně. Sůl pepř, sladká paprika, nové koření, bobkový list, trocha pasírovaných rajčat - taky přiměřeně. Všechno jsem večer naskládal do pomalého hrnce, zapnul - a šel spát.

The slow cooker is a small miracle. You do nothing, you sleep sweetly, you wake up in the morning and the meal is ready.

Pomalý hrnec je malý zázrak. Nic neděláte, sladce spíte, ráno se probudíte a jídlo hotové.

Of course I had to taste a sample. The borscht, of course, comes with a good shot of sour cream.
I was satisfied with the result. I recently had borscht in a Ukrainian bistro, and mine was fully comparable to the original (maybe even a little better).

Samozřejmě jsem musel vzorek ochutnat. K boršči samozřejmě patří i pořádný kypanec kysané smetany.
S výsledkem jsem byl spokojený. Nedávno jsem měl boršč v jednom ukrajinském bistru, a ten můj byl s originálem plně srovnatelný (možná i o něco lepší).

And I treated myself to a stylish outfit.

A k jídlu jsem si dopřál i stylový outfit.

sepa.png
Thank you for taking the time to read this post, if you have any questions, criticisms or suggestions I would appreciate it if you would throw them in the comments box

vote_follow.png

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center