Finally, the baby came out of the nest.

The long wait and frantic feeding of the parents were over, as now the little lady must learn to feed herself.
166.jpg

We popped in for a short spell to watch the nest in the past few days.

I love to see the new life emerging from their nests, as then they are cutest. We have seen this event several times in the past and I have even posted a Malachite baby out of the nest last Winter season. Now after this one, I can tell you that I also found a Malachite nest at another place, but the mom is still on the eggs. So, I am hoping to also get the Malachite baby emerging from the nest for the first time.
In any case, this little female is of the Southern Double-collared Sunbird species.
So, come and have a look.

The dad was singing this song, I feel at my best, as my baby is out of the nest.
139.JPG

Look carefully at this picture below. The mom was behind the baby in the nest, and she was pushing the baby out. Of course, the baby was not happy, and it was screaming.
057.JPG

A tiny little thing, as you can see.
210.JPG

The mom did not want the baby in the open, and she flew back and forth into a nearby bush to get the baby to follow her into the bush.
113.JPG

At last, the baby followed her as you can see her sitting here on a branch in the bush.
266.JPG

203.JPG

The baby shouted, you put me out of the nest and I want food.
018.JPG

Please, please, mommy, I am hungry, the baby pleaded. So, the mom looked at me, as if to say, see what I have to put up with now.
041.JPG

But the mom found something for the baby to eat, and you can see her feeding the baby below.
240.JPG

The dad also came down from his lofty perch, to see if the baby was okay.
155.JPG

Somehow, the baby knew that the dad would not feed her as you can see the dad departing here, happy that the baby is fine.
157.JPG

The danger now, is that they have to hide the baby as there are many predators around, such as this Rock Kestrel.
327.JPG

And that is wildlife in nature. Every new birth has to be kept hidden until they are strong enough to fly well. So, the next few days will be critical for the parents to keep the baby safe. The dad stays on guard, and even though he is small, he will not hesitate to attack any bigger bird or other predator that comes along. I have seen these little sunbird males even dive-bombing crows when they come near their nests. So, the long wait paid off for the parents and for us, as the mother took the matter of the baby departing from the nest in her own hands and forcing the baby out. We really hope that the baby will survive.

I hope you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon PowershotSX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting this post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments