Plane Wings and Pure Joy

Basic as it is, I love taking plane wing pics. In the words of Mari Kondo, "Do these things bring you joy?" Yes, yes they do.

Flying over NYC

And it's that giddy, vulnerable, brutally honest type of joy that you rarely feel once you're past childhood. It's full of wonder and expectation, because yup, soon you'll be landing in a place far from home, and yes, soon you'll be taking in brand new sights, smells, and experiences. I love it.

Flying into Cancun International Airport

Seeing the world from high above never fails to make me smile, and flying over the earth builds up a deep sense of breath-hitching sonder within me— every single time.

sonder
n. the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own—populated with their own ambitions (source)

Southwest Airlines is my jammm

Until a few years ago, travel for leisure seemed outrageously out of reach, especially with (at the time) two small children. Fast forward half a decade and add one more kid, and travel's all I want to continue doing. I'm enormously thankful that I've had the opportunity to visit new places within the US and internationally, too.

Capturing the view out of that little oval window's become something of a ritual of gratitude for me, and I've amassed a small (and growing!) collection of plane wing photos from my trips. These photos remind me that no matter where I am in life, there's still more of the world to see, explore, and love.

Introspective over photos of plane wings? Yup! These digital mementos of each journey remind me that I've got a lot more living and learning to do. And there's no better way to do those things than to continue exploring the world.

Got plane wing pics of your own to share? I'd love to see them! Link me to a post featuring a plane wing shot from your travels, or post one down below.

FYI

This is a freshly steemed post and will be syndicated to Aspire to Wander. I have previously published some of the included photos to my travel blog and other social media channels.

camera info

  • iPhone (multiple versions)

say hi


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now