Anecdotes From School: Discovering Effective Study Techniques

Every learner has a unique study technique that suits them well. It's all about exploring different learning styles and discovering which one is more effective in order to learn in an efficient way.Personally, I discovered some suitable study techniques that work fine for me right from my secondary school level, which I applied all through my university days and achieved desirable results.

_90d5252e-2bf8-4f0e-8d6e-af449f76e5af.jpeg


For every new piece of information, learners have different ways to understand and remember it. Those days in school, being in a lecture hall when a new lesson is being taught isn't a guarantee for me to totally understand what the lecturer is saying. It just helps me to reduce how strange the topic sounds. Of course, going the extra length to understand the topic more is a habit I never stopped doing back then in school. Some people's IQ is kind of too high to quickly grab new knowledge at a go; these are the people I usually make friends with, and after each lecture, I usually meet them for more explanation, and by then, I will have a better understanding of the topic. This step birthed the idea of having group studies as one of my study techniques.


When it comes to study techniques, these ones work well for me:

Read/Write: unlike some learners who find visual learning so easy, I do go by printed textbooks. Even when I have online research to do, you must find me with a paper and a pen to read it and write out all the information in a book. One part of me while studying is that retention is easier if I read through my own handwriting and not from textbooks or the internet, but textbooks are still fair enough. I still grab some information via the Internet and textbooks while studying, but it's more effective when I have them written down and learn it again through my notebooks 📚.

Group study: like I mentioned above, this has been one technique for studying that I find effective. I did have group studies at my secondary and tertiary levels, and when we come together to share ideas on a particular topic, retention is inevitable. If I am in an exam hall or maybe on my own reflecting, what each person said always appears so fresh in my mind and sticks, and I wouldn't be battling with retention via this method.

_165bfbd0-4bff-4f90-a359-f8b54d6ca0bf.jpeg


Repetitive learning: as much as I do not overlook my group study, I still create time for self-study, and that's where repetitive learning comes in. You may be asking why I am repeating what I have learned before. Yes, it's a sure way for the information to be retained. On those days at the university, I do not observe my break period every day. Either you see me with my friends or you find me in the library, reading, writing out vital points through the contents, and reading them again the second time. I was never a fan of reading at midnight; otherwise, I would be fighting with sleep, so I ensure to make use of the day for studying repeatedly as much as I can.

Rounding up
Studying techniques is indeed very important to learn in an efficient way and to remember information more easily. The techniques described above have been a lifesaver since their discovery and application.

What's your own studying technique? The Internet for learning something new? Or the traditional learning style, or whatever? Do share with me in the comment section.


This post was inspired by the #inleo community and my entry to the #Aprilinleo monthly topic Day 28.Please check out the announcement post to get involved.

Images generated by me on bing.com

Thanks for reading ❤️❤️❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments