Author of this content has low reputation.

LeoGlossary: Led Zeppelin - Whole Lotta Love (Song)

How to get a Hive Account


"Whole Lotta Love" is a hard rock song by the English band Led Zeppelin. It is the opening track on their second album, Led Zeppelin II, and was released as a single in 1969 in several countries. The song is noted for its heavy riff, sexually suggestive lyrics, and innovative use of tape loops. It is considered one of Led Zeppelin's signature songs and has been ranked among the greatest rock songs of all time.

Musical Composition:

  • Rhythm: The song is in the key of B minor and has a driving 4/4 time signature. The rhythm section of John Bonham on drums and John Paul Jones on bass provides a solid foundation for the song's powerful riffs.

  • Heavy riff: The song's opening riff, played by Jimmy Page on his Gibson Les Paul guitar, is one of the most iconic riffs in rock history.

  • Guitar: Jimmy Page's guitar work is one of the highlights of the song. He uses a variety of techniques, including blues licks, power chords, and feedback, to create a memorable and powerful sound.

  • Vocals: Robert Plant's vocals are full of energy and passion. He sings the lyrics with a raw, bluesy style that perfectly complements the song's powerful sound.

  • Wah-wah pedal: Page uses a wah-wah pedal on his guitar to create a distinctive effect on the song.

Lyrics:

  • Themes: The lyrics are a combination of blues and rock themes, with lyrics about love, lust, and desire. The song opens with the line "You need coolin' Baby, I'm not foolin'," setting the stage for a sexually charged and unapologetically confident performance.

Cultural Impact:

  • Popularity: "Whole Lotta Love" has been praised for its energy, originality, and songwriting. It has been ranked as one of the greatest rock songs of all time by various publications, including Rolling Stone, VH1, and Pitchfork media. The song has been covered by many artists, including Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, and Guns N' Roses.

  • Legacy: The song is one of Led Zeppelin's most popular and enduring songs. It has been played live by the band countless times and has been featured in many films and television shows. The song is considered a cornerstone of hard rock and is a defining moment in Led Zeppelin's career.

Interesting facts:

  • The song was inspired by Willie Dixon's song "You Shook Me" and the Funkadelic song "Lick My Decals Off, Baby".

  • The opening riff was inspired by a recording of the African thumb piano.

  • Page used a Gibson Les Paul guitar to record the song.

  • Plant's vocals are heavily influenced by blues singers such as Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf.

  • The song was banned by some radio stations due to its explicit lyrics.

"Whole Lotta Love" is a classic rock anthem that has been enjoyed by fans for generations. It is a song that is sure to get the crowd moving and it has stood the test of time as one of Led Zeppelin's most enduring and influential songs.

Lyrics

You need cooling
Baby I'm not fooling
I'm gonna send ya
Back to schooling

A-way down inside
A-honey you need it
I'm gonna give you my love
I'm gonna give you my love

Want to whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love

You've been learning
Um baby I been learning
All them good times baby, baby
I've been year-yearning

A-way, way down inside
A-honey you need-ah
I'm gonna give you my love, ah
I'm gonna give you my love, ah oh

Whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love

You've been cooling
And baby I've been drooling
All the good times, baby
I've been misusing

A-way, way down inside
I'm gonna give ya my love
I'm gonna give ya every inch of my love
I'm gonna give ya my love

Hey!
Alright! Let's go!

Whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love
Want to whole lotta love

Way down inside
Woman, you need, yeah
Love

My, my, my, my
My, my, my, my
Lord
Shake for me girl

I wanna be your backdoor man
Hey, oh, hey, oh
Hey, oh, hey, oh
Ooh
Oh, oh, oh, oh

Cool, my, my baby
A-keep it cooling baby
A-keep it cooling baby
Ah-keep it cooling baby
Ah-keep it cooling baby
Ah-keep it cooling baby

General:

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center