Diving into the world of beverages

When it comes to parties and celebrations, beverages are one of the most important aspects of them and on that list, alcoholic beverages such as beer are on top. It's funny how I just found out today that beer, sodas, wine and other drinks are all beverages. I used to categorize only tea, coffee and hot chocolate as beverages but according to dictionary.com "A beverage is any potable liquid, especially one other than water, as tea, coffee, beer, or milk." Looks like I just learned something new today, and some of you probably did as well

Anyway, I currently have a love-hate relationship with alcohol (specifically spirits) because of a very bad experience I had with it many years ago. My roommate did a small party to celebrate his birthday and at the end of it, a couple of drinks were remaining. We decided to drink some of them that night. I was in bed watching a movie and he kept filling my cup as I kept drinking the whole thing. Later on, I tried to get up so I could use the bathroom and it felt like a car was on my head. That was when I realized I had drank more than half of this "beautiful" whiskey in the picture below.

McDowell, with an alcohol level of 42%. That was one of the worst days of my life as I kept fading in and out of consciousness. I almost threw up my intestines that night and I ended up passing the night close to the bathroom. The hangover that came in the next day was on another level, and I just vowed to stay away from whiskeys, gins, tequila and other spirits after that terrible experience. I still drink these days but mostly beers, wines and sodas. I don't frequently drink beers and wines except on some special occasions

I travelled to my village 2 weeks ago for a funeral ceremony and most of the time I just took non-alcoholic beverages (mostly malt drinks). I only drank beer once but another interesting beverage I drank on some occasions during the 1 week I spent in the village is palm wine. I don't know if y'all know of this drink but it's gotten from palm trees. It's very sweet when it's still fresh but some people leave it to ferment for a day and then it becomes alcoholic. Honestly, I prefer the alcoholic one, it's still sweet but it comes with a mild burning sensation as well.

The alcohol level in it isn't much, if I'm to guess I would say it's around 10% which is perfectly fine by me. Palm wine is very popular in local regions but very hard to come across in cities (probably because humans crazily cut down the trees that produce them!). Two beverages I have never had are cocktails and mocktails such as margaritas, virgin coladas, martinis, and all others. Maybe I have had them in packaged form and I never realized but I have never gone to a bar and ordered one but that will change soon.

When it comes to beers, I prefer them when they are cold. I can drink any beer as long as it is very cold, even though some of them out there taste like shit. For a long time now, my favourite beer has been Heineken and those of you who are familiar with it would agree that it's a great beer. Beer is actually one of the oldest and most consumed alcoholic beverages which is present in most parties (except children's parties of course). It's so popular at parties that a few drinking games like beer pong are built around it.

Beverages have a fantastic role to play in our daily lives as they each have their roles. From coffee to spirits, everybody has a reason why they take these beverages. But it's also important to know that we should limit the way we take them as taking any of them in excess can have a very damaging effect on our health. I don't need to tell you what alcohol does to your liver in the long run, and you're not safe from non-alcoholic beverages as well, considering most of them contain lots of sugar. But in the end, we can all agree that beverages are great to have around, whether we are at a party or not.

This is my entry for April Inleo Prompt, day 20. Come be a part of these awesome daily prompts by clicking on this link.

Thanks for reading

Connect with me on:
Twitter: @kushyzeena
Readcash: @kushyzee

Lead image: Image by freepik
Edited with Canva
Other images are mine
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment