Parties and festivals are incomplete without drinks

How do you party without winning and dining? The life of the party remains mostly in the games and the drinks. It's said that all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. My friends and I decided to party low-key every quarter or every six months while in medical school. We did not need to have a reason to party; we just did so as to have fun and lessen the burden of strenuous academic activities. We were about five guys, and occasionally a few others would join. The planning was often simple since it was mostly a house party and we could use any of our residences. Being in a hostel area, inviting friends and neighbors was never much of an issue.


I have always had a knack for being organized, and I did the mental breakdown of all that was needed. Our orders mostly included snacks or food to eat and a mix of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. It's always fun when everyone is served to taste, even though we're careful not to overload any single individual in a drunken state. Getting those drinks chilled before serving them often brings a refreshing taste to the consumer.


I was never a heavy drinker; in fact, I could count the number of times I took alcoholic drinks in a year, and the best was a Smirnoff, which contained 5%, or the radler star if the former was not available. I used to take that only when friends were around or there was an occasion like a hangout. I have stopped for about two years, cutting down on both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. My preference has been water. You would not blame me for trying to preserve my organs from the constant attacks on them from the chemicals in different processed meals and junk we are exposed to daily.


Who goes to visit a family member or friend without a bottle of wine? I find it awkward to visit important people or birthdays without bearing gifts. My choice is often a fruit drink, of which my favorite is either 'pure haven' or 'Eva and occasionally, 'Veleta'. They're non-alcoholic and can be accepted by any family. It used to cost about ₦1000 some years back but recently went for about ₦3,500 to ₦5, 000, which is a fair price for a gift.


I attended a festival in October last year. My boss at work was bestowed a chieftain title, and we had to travel to Baruten Local Government Area in Kwara State, where we witnessed a cultural display of the great people of Ilesha Baruba, demonstrated primarily by horseback riding. Horse riding still remains something I hope to do someday soon. I enjoyed the festival as the audience witnessed horses dance to a drumbeat.


The ceremony was crowned by a welcome reception party at my boss's apartment in the community, and there was much to eat and drink. Soft drinks were served in excess, while a corner was reserved for those who wanted alcoholic drinks, even though some openly chose to have alcoholic drinks on their table while they ate. I had to plead with our driver to drink with caution as we had a journey ahead of us.


I love taking my drinks chilled, be they soft or mocktails served at parties. There's often a chilling sensation. My Smirnoff drink used to be served chilled, and if it's soft too, serve it chilled!


Here is my entry into #aprilinleo monthly and daily prompts. You can participate via this LINK


ALL IMAGES ARE MINE

Thank you for reading. I would love to have your comments and contributions.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments