Blue Skies and Exam "Smiles"

I’m still feeling a bit flummoxed about today’s events. And I’ve been doing a few things to take my mind off them. So far it worked but as I picked up my phone to get some work done, I couldn’t help that my mind went back to it and I resolved within me to write as the only way to set myself completely free from the thoughts.

First off, my tests had been postponed until after the Easter break. Since I wasn’t too prepared for it, I was happy about the postponement. Anyway, I prepared during the holiday and was set to return to school. We’d already been told that our tests would start the very day school resumed so my mind was prepared for it.

I was supposed to return to the dorms yesterday but for some reason, I couldn’t and I knew I’d only be able to come in today. I was against this development because I knew we’d have a test today and I didn’t want the stress of carting my luggage on a school morning but I resolved to just go for my tests and then come back home afterwards to get my stuff.

When I got to school, I heard from my colleagues in the hostel that the test had been postponed from 9am to 12pm. I didn’t like that but I had no choice but to roll with it. So, I picked up my books and went to the library which is a relatively far distance from the halls. At about 11.35 though, I began to have this sinking sensation because I realized then as I scanned the library that there was no student from my department inside the library.

Hoping that I was mistaken in my thinking, I walked briskly to the halls and felt my heart fall when I saw bags outside and students writing on their papers. The invigilators started with a string of insults at how silly and unserious I was for being more than thirty minutes late to my test. They kept yelling but I was no longer listening. All that was on my mind was how to finish in time since I knew they’d collect my script at the same time as others.

I didn’t even have time to say a little word of prayer which I usually did. I was that agitated. For this particular course, we’re supposed to write four essays of at least five hundred words, minus the Multiple Choice Questions (MCQ). I resisted the urge to cuss at the lecturer cause it was already unfair to set such little time for questions as bulky as the ones we had to answer.

Not paying attention to any ruckus going on in my environment, I wrote at breakneck speed. I completely removed my mind from getting extra points because of my handwriting because the one I wrote in this test was just not it. As I was done with the third essay and decided to start on the MCQ before heading to the last question, I heard the invigilator yell that we had five minutes left.

I nearly lost my mind because I knew that I could finish the MCQ of twenty questions in three minutes, so was it the essay of at least five hundred words that I was going to finish in two? I smiled a self-deprecating smile at the mess I found myself and just wrote. I barely got to write my registration number before the invigilator who had been yelling profanities at me yanked my scripts from my hand.

As I was placed at the front, I was practically the first person whose scripts were collected. I couldn’t even bring myself to beg because he was already sneering at me. I quietly took my pen and left the hall. When others who started at the right time came out and were lamenting that the time hadn’t been nearly enough for them to finish, I swallowed the bitterness in my throat. I mean if I had started thirty minutes earlier, I would have been in a way better position. I asked why no one had called and they said they were all taken by surprise and couldn't reach me since they were rushed into the hall.

I laughed a lot after that cause I had nothing else to do. Writing about this now, I remember what uplifted my sour mood. Just as people were still analyzing the test, we received the news that the results for four of our courses were out. Such an emotion-packed day, I tell you. But yeah, I aced them all. That’s the only reason I’m here writing instead of crying while watching K-dramas. Lol

Anyway, I just felt like sharing how my day turned out. Wins, near wins and everything else.

Jhymi🖤


Thumbnail created with NightCafe Studio.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center