An experience of visiting an Indian Himalayan village which is famous for paragliding

It would be better to call today's post a blog cum photo journey. There are a few days left for the trail race to be held here. Some preparations have to be done for the race in which I will also have to participate. All the photos in today's post have been clicked while completing these preparations. This place is Bir village which is famous all over the country for its paragliding. I went here for the first time in 2016, since then I reach here several times every year to see life a little more closely. Let's go on this photo journey.

Collage created in adobe photoshop

Apart from paragliding, Bir is also famous for tea gardens, the tea here is sold in the local market by the name of Kangri tea. Because now summer is arriving and while gliders are flying above our heads, colorful flowers have bloomed on the earth, to tell the truth, I like looking at colorful flowers more than anything else. There are paintings on the walls of Bir, some giving social messages and some saying motivational quotes.

There are many Buddhist monasteries in and around Bir, Buddhists came here for the first time in 1962. Walking on the roads built between the tea gardens is nothing less than a relaxing experience. I must have walked 60 or 70 km here this time, I am not including the hike in this. There is a cafe in Bir market whose name seems a bit strange to me, who names a cafe ‘Mafia’.

I like to see the fields outside the village passing through the mud houses, then look at the sky where paragliders are flying. This view feels like a symbol of freedom. The fruit on the pear tree will ripen and be ready to eat in this rainy season. Moving ahead, we enter the village boundary and after crossing a white colored house, we see a cafe built in a remote place and enter it. Sitting here, we drink coffee and witness the setting sun.

Watching the paragliders flying over the Dhauladhar mountain range at sunset, it seems as if the guards of the sky are performing their duty with full responsibility. The sun is setting over the houses made of mud and stone. We are walking and enjoying the view. We leave the cafe and reach the paragliding landing site. Arriving on time, we enjoy the sunset and watching the paragliders land is thrilling.

Now the light is fading, the pilots are packing their gliders and leaving for their homes. Tourists are also loading their cars parked in the parking lot and leaving either for their homes or towards the hotel. Before it gets dark, I go to a Buddhist monastery where a puja is going on. After spending some time in the monastery, I go to the hotel where I finish the day by having dinner.

The next day, I wake up seeing the faces of pink flowers. After getting ready, I enter the wheat fields and feel the heat of the sun on my face. Today my friend and I have gone on a small hike. We are going to hike about 11 to 12 km today around Bir village. While walking we cross many villages, see Hanumangarh mountain in front. Enter the pine forest and slip many times. Pine leaves are very slippery, as soon as I put my shoes on, my feet slipped many times.

At one place on the way we see Buddhist prayer flags, a tired cyclist resting. We move forward saying hi to Kotli village and the wild flowers around it. After 7 km we reach Kyori village where we see dark clouds in the sky, seeing which I wish that it rains so that the weather becomes a little cool.

And at night after coming to our hotel we all eat pizza, I go to sleep after having a full stomach thinking that the next day I will have to go on some trail again where I will have a lot of fun. So this was today's photo blog. I hope you liked this blog. See you in the next post where I will take you to the waterfall located in Gunhed.

Disclaimer: This post is originally written in Hindi and I have used Google Translator to tranlate the Hindi text in English. All the photos have been clicked by me from POCO F1 and edited in Lightroom/photoshop.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center