Been there done that, loved it all

-.jpg

I have wandered all my life, and I have also traveled; the difference between the two being this, that we wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfillment.

- Hilaire Belloc -



It's been one of my greatest sources of happiness and enjoyment; travelling the world.

It's not just the act of travelling of course, it's what happens when one does so, the events, experiences and activities, the solitude of far away places, anonymity of not knowing a soul around, exploring new places, delving into the history and culture, meeting new people and other such things that travelling brings. I've had bad moment during my travels, things that went wrong, were dangerous and other disappointments but the value I have gained from travelling to various parts of the world have far outweighed any negatives.

Chatting with a work colleague today, one who has also travelled extensively, I was curious to hear so many negative comments in respect of his travels. It was one "horror story" after another, that's how he pitched them anyway, and as he was talking I was thinking, that doesn't sound that bad, or yep, that happened to me too and I dealt with it and moved on. What struck me was the way we saw things so differently, approached the complications, problems and scenarios that, invariably, travelling around the world will bring.

Glass half full, glass half empty...or glass smashed into smithereens on the ground; it's all about perspective.

Personally, I don't have those horror stories; mine are simply "things that happened," and I see them as part and parcel of the overall experience. Furthermore, some of the best moments I've had have been the direct result of something going wrong and I think that's pretty cool.

_.jpg

I'm a better version of myself when I'm travelling for recreation, holidays and the like: More relaxed, less stressed, less single-focused and I have a broader outlook - just a few differences from the non-travelling version. I'm happier because of those things, not that I'm not usually happy, it's just different, a deeper happiness and contentment I feel more free. I think that's probably why things don't tend to phase me too much and I see the difficulties as part of the entire experience.


The experiences I've had are too numerous to list in a short post like this and many I don't want to share as not everything needs to be on the internet; I like to keep my personal life personal. I've had some truly amazing experiences though and each forms a memory that I'm able to draw upon at will and each is a valued part of my life, even those things that didn't go quite to plan.

It was a bit sad listening to that fellow talking about his travels and being so negative rather than focusing on the great parts and seeing the less-good aspects as stepping stones to to get there. I wonder about you though.

Have you had things go wrong on your travels that have stuck with you and overshadowed the good aspects? Do you see them as part of the experience or things that you wish never happened? I get it, sometimes these things cause major problems but do you take it all in your stride or allow them to detract from the whole experience? Feel free to comment if you would like.



Design and create your ideal life, tomorrow isn't promised - galenkp

[Original and AI free]
Image(s) in this post are my own

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now