More than just a quote

Life it self is made up of different motivational quotes, this week its about this quote and the next week its a different ball game. The truth remains that as we get up each day from our bed and holding unto our present reality there is just that one saying that keeps our spirit alive be it in hard or good times.

Personally for me, my motivation for each day solemnly depend on the kind of season I find myself. There are some days all I need is a word to encourage me not to give up and for the other times I see light all I need is another word. But then despite the numerous quotes there is this one, just this one that have hold unto for only God knows how long and if I could remember about seven to eight years now.

"No matter how bitter leaf is bitter, it can still be use to prepare a delicious meal". You see this particular quote, it has become me of which I cherish like a mother would hold her new born like an egg. Like we all know bitter leaf isn't something we all love to chew because of it unpleasant taste but then it's importance to mankind cannot be overemphasized. I remember back then as kids, whenever we fall ill my mom sometimes squeezed out the juice from the leaves afterwards introduced milk into the liquid for us to consume saying it adds blood. Despite the fact something sweet has been introduced we still find it difficult to drink because that bitter taste won't go away and most of the times there is always sweet at the corner waiting for us after gulping the liquid.

But have you tasted bitter leaf soup before? It is just something you want to eat over and over again with your favorite swallow 🤣 I mean the first day I went to my aunt's house and she served me the soup I was like no.....am not going to eat oh!! And she just said try it first. mehn!! That soup is mad ohh!! After eating to my satisfaction I was like shey na bitter leaf sweet like this?. 🤣🤣

After that day I realized that nobody is worthless, no matter how a person is written off by the society, friends and even the world at large something good can still come out of such person as far life is concerned. This also resonant so well when the Nathanael said can any good thing come out of Nazareth? And the answer we all know is yes. the Messiah, Jesus Christ came from Nazareth. And now can any good thing come out of me despite the fact so much time has been wasted and it seems as though it would be impossible to achieve that dream? The answer is yes. Yes is the answer if ordinary bitter leaf can be use as a blood supplement something good can hundred percent come out of me. If that same bitter leaf can be use to prepare good and quality soup with loads of assorted proteins inside of it that one can eat and be satisfied then am rest assured something good can come out of me.

If the bitter leaf had hated it self and said I don't want to be bitter leaf anymore then there would be no soup called bitter leaf soup today. Never come to that point where you wish not to be yourself cause there is only one you in the whole world and only you has that one hidden talent that just you and you knows how to do best. Discover yourself today and watch how the world queues to hear your success story tomorrow.



Writing was inspired by @Hivenaiha community, wk64 Favorite Quote. Do well to subscribe to the community so we can hear from you as well on each of the amazing prompts. 😍


Thank you for your time, peace 🕊️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center