From those sheep these cheeses - My second trip to the Basque Country🏔️🌍


Latxa sheep grazing in Aizkorri-Aratz Natural Park.
Latxa sheep grazing in Aizkorri-Aratz Natural Park.

This breed of sheep has a fleece of very long hair, which almost touches the ground; rough wool (latxa means "rough" in Basque) and fat, adapted to the local climate belonging to humid Spain. Their short hair on the head is reddish or black. - Wikipedia

To watch the sheepdog maneuvering to control the floack of sheep is a show.
To watch the sheepdog maneuvering to control the floack of sheep is a show.

When I was walking through this Natural Park and saw this sheep I wondered where will be the nearest shepherd house to be able to buy one of their worldwide famous Idiazabal smoked cheese.

I found a farm in the deep of the Natural Park with lots of awards because of their cheeses.
I found a farm in the deep of the Natural Park with lots of awards because of their cheeses.

I was lucky enough to find a shepherd house and farm where they were selling their cheeses since 1991 and had won lots of awards; so the oportunity was clear and I bought half a cheese.

”Aizpea” Idiazabal smoked cheese, 12€/half cheese.
"Aizpea" Idiazabal smoked cheese, 12€/half cheese.

And if you're wondering, yeah, it was a really nice cheese we shared at home after finishing my travel.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now