Welcome to the Kwame Nkrumah Museum and #HPUD

I’ve only written briefly about my Lead for Ghana journey here on Hive. In that overview post I shared, I somehow forgot to mention an interesting trip we went on towards the end of our Residential Institute (which was basically the in-person part of our training).

After we were done with all the classes and lessons at Residential Institute, we went on a trip to Kwame Nkrumah Museum in Accra. Kwame Nkrumah as in the greatest man in the history of Ghana, and arguably maybe even Africa entirely.

In this post, I’ll take you with me down memory lane of some of the historical things there.

Right at the entrance, we had this car (I don’t remember the name of. Bummer). It reminded me a lot of Tommy Egan of power for whatever reason. Lol this is not a movie post though, so back to business.

This was the car Kwame Nkrumah strolled the greet the free Ghanaian citizens after we just gained our independence. Seeing this in person, I realized the black and white documentaries did not do this beauty justice! It’s interesting though that even though this was standing literally next to the entrance of the museum, this picture was one of the last pictures I took towards the ending of the tour.

Next thing we saw was these instrument player fountains bowing infront of Dr Kwame Nkrumah. The tour guide explained that this was a symbolism meant to portray how respected Dr Kwame Nkrumah was. Under normal circumstance, they bow to no one. So showing them kneeling infront of Nkrumah was accord or immense respect and admiration.

This building here symbolises a tree that’s been cut down at the root. Inside that building is where Dr Nkrumah lies, and the cut trunk building symbolizes how he was murdered before he could transform Africa into the land he envisioned.

Inside the building we were given a bit of history about his death and burial at his grave and final resting place. I say final because we were informed Dr Nkrumah was buried 3 times in 3 different locations. The coup against him happened when he was outside Ghana, so unable to return back, he died on a strangers land and buried there. Years after his death, he was later dug up and buried at another place (don’t exactly remember the name of the place), and even more years after it was decided this museum be created in his honor, and that his body be moved here.

There’s a very interesting story behind the statue here. After it was built, the head was chopped off by an anonymous person, and was never discovered until years later when it resurfaced in a village in Ghana. It was then retrieved and placed separately on the stand on the other side of the picture.

The next place we headed, it was strictly forbidden to take any pictures of the place. We weren’t told exactly why, but seeing the things that were inside, I believe it could be a marketing strategy to create mystery to attract tourists.

Finally, we came to this cool art wall which had Dr Nkrumah’s pictures and some few Ghanaian inspirational quotes all over it. This was where most of the photography happened.


There was actually a lot more to the place, but I just can’t remember because it’s been such a long and eventful time after this trip, I was prone to forget - which underscores the importance of writing about things as they happen or just after they happen, so you can refer to them later

The #marchinleo post prompts are out. Check this post to find out what the prompts for this month are, and how to participate. You stand a chance to win a free INLEO premium account by participating


HPUD

I almost would’ve skipped this month’s HPUD because I set a goal of earning 200HP every month, and tracking last month and this month, my HP has hit that growth mark. It also would’ve partly been because Hive has gotten a little bit more expensive today than most of the week, so I feel like I’ll be getting less for my HBD.Regardless though, I’m powering up 16 Hive to take my HP to a nice round 3380HP for the month, so that hopefully by the end of next month, I’ll be sitting on 3600HP. If you haven’t powered up yet today, join us in this #hpudritual.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center