Three Photographs for Three Different Emotional States of Mind: Anger, Melancholy and Joy [ENG/ESP]

I don't think I've ever dared to exemplify my emotions through an image before. I mean, it's as abstract as it is undefined. How is joy, or anger, supposed to be represented? With a smiling person or another one showing teeth of rage? I find both pretensions too cliché, predictable and honestly boring. But since this is an art of subjectivity and emotions are as human as error, I have decided to try to fulfill the goal I have set for myself; 3 emotions in 3 photographs.

Now, what motivated me to do this? Basically the understanding that only a therapy session can give you. This last year, 2023, I have been doing psychological therapy. Trying to unlock all the problems that have plagued me and that are rooted deep inside me. I have always been an extremely passive, manipulative person with deep inferiority and guilt complexes. But even someone like who I once was has his limits....

Creo que nunca me había tomado el atrevimiento de ejemplificar mis emociones a través de una imagen. Digo, es tan abstracto como indefinido ¿Cómo se supone que debe representarse la alegría, o la ira? ¿Con una persona sonriente u otra mostrando los dientes de rabia? Me parecen ambas pretensiones demasiado cliché, predecibles y honestamente aburridas. Pero como este es un arte de subjetividad y las emociones son tan humanas como el error, he decidido tratar de cumplir con la meta que me he trazado; 3 emociones en 3 fotografías.

Ahora bien, ¿qué me motivó a mí a hacer esto? Básicamente la comprensión que sólo una sesión de terapia puede brindarte. Este último año, 2023, he estado haciendo terapia psicológica. Tratar de destrabar todos los problemas que me han aquejado y que guardan sus raíces en lo profundo de mi ser. Siempre fui una persona extremadamente pasiva, manipulable y con profundos complejos de inferioridad y culpa. Pero hasta alguien como quien alguna vez yo fuera, tiene su límite...

During therapy I have learned that the worst enemy we all have, is not outside but inside, we are ourselves! Extremely unfair, harsh, toxic and victimizing. Actions that cloud our minds, envy the decisions we make, and hinder the learning we can have through the experiences we live. So as an act of recognition and also of challenge I wanted to try to capture the three most frequent emotions in my life.

I lived much of my adolescence and adulthood with a restrained anger that I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy. I was a girl who alternated episodes of passionate rage with guilt to "try" to calm what I felt inside of me. Make no mistake, when I refer to anger, I am not talking about violence, but about that inner fire that we all keep and that sometimes explodes, taking everything and everyone in its path. Years of my life went by without being able to express, in time, what I felt to certain people and figures who were important to me....

En terapia he aprendido que el peor enemigo que todos nosotros tenemos, no es están afuera sino dentro ¡Somos nosotros mismos! Extremadamente injustos, duros, tóxicos y victimistas. Acciones que nublan nuestras mentes, envician las decisiones que llevamos a cabo, y dificultan los aprendizajes que podamos tener a través de las experiencias que vivamos. Así que como un acto de reconocimiento y también de desafío he querido tratar de capturar las tres emociones más frecuentes en mi vida.

Viví mucho tiempo de mi adolescencia y adultez con una ira contenida que no se la deseo ni a mi peor enemigo. Fui una chica que alternaba sus episodios de rabia apasionante con una culpa para "intentar" calmar lo que sentía dentro de mí. No se confundan, cuando me refiero a la ira, no hablo de violencia, sino de aquél fuego interior que todos guardamos y que en ocasiones explota, llevándose a todo y a todos a su paso. Años de mí vida transcurrí sin poder expresar, a tiempo, lo que sentía a ciertas personas y figuras importantes para mí...

I took refuge in the happiest time of my life: childhood. Always thinking melancholically in those moments. Where I found every awakening, every day as an adventure... So yes, I became (also) a dangerous melancholic. I understand now, that I did myself harm based on a defense mechanism. I isolated myself in the past to somehow deny the present or my fear of the uncertainty of the future.

Besides this, the phase of joy that I have been experiencing in the last few years of my most recent life is due to my awakening as an individual. Where the pretensions and demands that others always wanted to impose on me no longer have the effect they once did. I have chosen my life, my mental health and my priorities. I am not selfish, as I am often called these days, but someone who decides what is best for herself and what is not.

Hive is a wonderful social network, but also very similar in visuals to Instagram. Where the value of photography is tied to support and recognition within those networks. I'm not looking for both, I just try to capture in this fantastic tool, a bit of my vision in this life. Of my rebirth and above all, try to make it something more interesting. I do hope you find these lines, moderately to your liking, and that the photographs transmit the emotional intention that inspired them in the first place.

En este mismo sentido, me refugié en la etapa más feliz de toda mi vida: la infancia. Siempre pensando melancólicamente en aquellos momentos. Donde hallaba cada despertar, cada día como una aventura... Así que sí, me volví (también) una melancólica peligrosa. Comprendo ahora, que me hice un daño basado en un mecanismo de defensa. Me auto aislé en el pasado para, de alguna manera, negar el presente o mi temor hacia la incertidumbre del futuro.

Aunando a esto, la fase de alegría que he estado experimentando en los últimos años de mi vida más reciente, se deben a mi despertar como individuo. Donde las pretensiones y exigencias que los demás siempre quisieran imponerme a mí, ya no surten el efecto que otrora solían hacer. He elegido mi vida, mi salud mental y mis prioridades. No soy egoísta, como también suelen denoninarme actualmente, sino alguien que decide qué es lo mejor para sí misma y qué no lo es.

Hive es una red social maravillosa, pero también muy similar en lo visual a Instagram. Donde el valor de la fotografía está ligado al apoyo y al reconocimiento dentro de esas redes. Yo no busco ambas, solo intento plasmar en esta herramienta fantástica, un poco de mi visión en esta vida. De mi renacer y sobre sobre, intentar hacerlo algo más interesante. Espero hallen estas líneas, medianamente del agrado de todo, y que las fotografías transmitan la intención emocional que las inspiraron en primer lugar.

Catharsis is a precious tool to regulate any human emotion. This community, this social network, this opportunity is something I appreciate and highly recommend. Thank you for reading me. The photographs are of my authorship.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now