Swapmeet Finds #3230

Today, we begin exploring a big pile of color slides I found a while back (last year?). I finally got around to scanning them - after getting a "new" (10-year-old) scanner that's made specifically for scanning slides and photos. I could have scanned them with my old cheapie slide scanner. But with that scanner, I can only scan 1 slide at a time (instead of 4) and the resolution isn't as good as with this newer scanner.

So anyway, there were around 1000 slides in this pile (all date-stamped between 1967 - 1977). But I only ended up scanning the best 150 or so. Most of the rest were just boring family photos where everybody stands together with no interesting background details or anything. Blah. Either that, or unidentified natural scenery... somewhere. Ho-hum. At least these few that I DID scan have some redeeming qualities. At least I think so. Your mileage may vary. :-)

The sad part is, there's almost NOTHING written on these slides or any other way to identify the family involved. Yes, there were a few little clues. But they're not definitive and nowhere near current enough to track anybody down (like I was able to, with Roberta's). So all these great pictures are essentially lost to that family. But I'm preserving them here (and elsewhere), so at least they're not lost to the world. That's a good thing, because there are some wonderful images.

The first couple slides look to be modern shots taken of older monochrome photos. Like they (whoever) were trying to preserve them. Not the greatest, but you can still see enough to get the idea. It's possible this one is a picture of the grandparents we'll see more of down the road. If so, the married couple in the middle would be one Bruno M. Tadewaldt (1893-1969) and his new bride Lydia A. Tadewaldt (1894-1979) and this picture would have been taken sometime in the 1910s.
Epson080.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now