Travel to Whistler with me

One of the coolest things of working at Microsoft Vancouver is its generous paternity leave policy. When my youngest baby was born, I took ~6 weeks to spend time with her. Part of that time was used in getting a much needed "Whistler fix": a term my wife and I have coined to describe when we need, well, Whistler time.

So in late August we grabbed our bags, booked a room (kudos to the Summit Lodge!), woke up our daughters and off we went. Here are some pictures that make me wish I was there now, and I hope you enjoy them.

The food was actually impressive. Italian, French, Mexican, burgers... You name it. Side note: I've heard impressive reviews of a Mongolian place up there. Gotta check it out next time.

IMG_5734.JPG

IMG_5735.JPG

IMG_5995.JPG

But well, I guess going there and not checking out the mountains is like not going at all. Fitzsimmons Creek at the base, mountaintop, gondola et. al. for your pleasure.

IMG_5943-EFFECTS.jpg

28586656_Unknown-EFFECTS.jpg

IMG_6056.JPG

IMG_5988.JPG

Last, but not least, obligatory Alta Lake visit. We rented a pedal boat and tried to make it to the other side... I think we were 10% there when we realized we were lacking physical conditioning, so we just stayed there enjoying the breeze and the sun.

IMG_6286.JPG

I can't wait to visit Whistler again. I know it's the de-facto winter destination, but for some reason I enjoy it a little bit more in the summer. Although I always struggle between Whistler, Victoria, or perhaps finally venturing further inland of this beautiful country.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center