polemic on the pandemic, January 3rd

I have a room all to myself; it is Nature, writes Thoreau. I don’t know, my room is a part of a larger home, but where my space is, I cannot say for certain. I feel right at my desk, books, and mags at the ready. I have several issues to scan, prints to unravel yet there’s no pressure to perform, here of all places. I’m at ease nestled in a trainer car’s corner, head nodding as I rest, clutching my backpack. I rode many mornings to school like this. The timely screech round the bend in the tracks told me I arrived. That too, was a sort of place for me.

IMG_9093.jpg

Today's haul includes: two pads, a ruler and entry fountain pen. Everything I need to help these images bubble up.

With no lack of synchronicity, today under the drizzling rain, I walked to that same square from high school. I worked my first job there. I greeted people as ‘the front of house’. It was alright, greeting people and getting them the right burger for lunch. Against the rules but not my creed, I accepted tips from generous folk happy with what they had. At that restaurant, I also tasted a bitter loss. Some fool relieved me of my precious headphones.

IMG_9094.jpg

Forget the past, I'm rewriting my future with this one.

Today’s business involved pens, paper, and the pursuit of taking pictures. I stopped into Harvard Square to visit Bob Slate Stationer but dropped into Hunt’s Photo & Video beforehand. I saw the commitment device and knew I had to have it. To get my photographic repetitions in, I needed another 50mm lens. I couldn’t afford to switch them how I switch lanes, haphazardly without planning. To commit to more analog photography, the Canon 1-N would need its own lens by which to see the world, expose the negatives.

I saw someone in the photo community I recognized as well, working in the store. After praising their work, we connected and went to that adult candy shop, a few steps around the bend. Bless my sister for waiting in the car, because I peppered Christopher, one of the shop hands, with questions.

IMG_9095-2.jpg

Where do I start? What can you tell me about..? I learned about fountain pens, both German and Japanese. We discussed beginner options fit, for someone like me. Apparently, there’s a pen show held in September out in Somerville. I found everything I was looking for and more, so I had to reel it in with a simple start. An ITOYA disposable fountain pen sits atop a busy desk right now.
I was also pleased to hear the store survived its double dose of stress- the affliction of the pandemic ruined all small business alike. To make matters worse, a flood in the back office took out infrastructure for the show so wholly, they appealed to their larger community with a fundraiser. Christopher coolly replied that things were okay, especially since then. Still, that won’t spare you my wrath on that topic.

Here’s my problem. I’m sick of the pandemic. My pen’s moving like a speeding car on the highway. I’m cutting with aggressive moves at this dumb disease. Our economy’s wacked out, work isn’t working out and neither are the current fixes. Speaking of, the only way it’s fixed seems to be in favor of the few. So, what’s the play then? My left hand rakes my head as the right scribbles. We need new tech. I’m looking at this specific fintech for people to use, instead of this funny money supply for parkway pigs and fat cats eating off the backs of hardworking folk like you and me. Shop at your local spot, support your local bombardier, and forget the Glamazons and Metaverses. If I’m not spittin’, try this. Uber Eats only delivers the local takeout places in business. Most fulfillment for Walmart are mom-and-pop shops. Big business exists because of small. It could not without it. Start small and respect the conglomerate.

Having a day in Harvard Square was cool. The focal local saw some sights today, that’s for sure.

IMG_9096.jpg

Apparently, the presidents of the United States have a history with this brand: CROSS.

Post Summary

  • Where you are shapes what you do. Thoreau found himself within nature, free of distraction. I like the city.
  • The Focal Local visits Harvard Square, as a dry run for the series and run for errands. I picked up a commitment device for my film photography, my specialty lens. Hard to ignore film photos with my kit prepped!
  • Business hasn’t been the same since we all got sick. I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired of being sick and tired. I play my part by paying up in my local economy.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center