Discovering the Swabian Jura - Part 3, Visiting the archaeological excavation site Geissenklösterle

thumb.jpg

Greetings Steemians!

Welcome back to my tour along the Swabian Jura.

Today we are making a side-trip into the Ach valley to visit the archeological excavation site Geissenklösterle. Without making an overstatement, the Geissenklösterle is counted among the most significant paleolithic archaeological sites in the world.

Fragments representing the oldest examples of figurine art and also the oldest known musical instruments were discovered here. Some of them dating back up to 40,000 years from now.

1.jpg

The Geissenklösterle is located near Blaubeuren on the eastern hillside of the Ach valley and can be approached on an easy hiking path. The limestone rocks that harbour the cave form a half-moon shaped arena that rises around 20 m above the ground (image top right).

5.jpg

Standing there, with the wall of rock covering my back, this place provided an immediate sense of shelter and protection. Whatever had approached from the valley, the paleolithic inhabitants would have spotted it early on, be it a horde of Neanderthals, an angry mammoth or a hungry saber-toothed tiger. More than understandable that our predecessors had chosen this place to settle.

2.jpg

In a little alcove, I could spot some figurine art of younger origin.

3.jpg

The actual excavation site is kept locked to protect it against tomb raiding . Still, I was able to sneak in a bit with my zoom lens.

4.jpg

Is anyone able to explain the purpose of all these laces hanging from the top of the cave's ceiling? I will reward the most convincing explanation with 1 SBD. Please provide a link that supports your explanation. The decision about the winning contribution will solely be based on my subjectiv judgement.

While the excavation site itself may not appear spectacular, here a few links that highlight the artefacts that have been unearthed from there:

Upright cave bear
Mammoth
Flute

These objects have been created by our predecessors between 30'000 and 40'000 years before our time and mark a fundamental leap in our history. Humans had started to create objects that didn't just provide a technical advantage but resulted from an intrinsic impetus to become creative. The beginning of our culture.

6.jpg

Before I end, a little extra challenge. I added one detail to this post that is a complete impossibility. Another SBD for the one who who is able to spot and report it first :).

EDIT: I was just made aware that I was wrong about the wrong fact in my post. I was convinced that the sable-tooth tiger had been extinct long before Homo sapiens had arrived in Europe. And that an encounter would have been an impossibility. Apparently, that is not the case. The age of the youngest specimen of a sable-tooth tiger has been dated being only 28'000 years old! Thanks @alexanderbraun for making me aware of my misapprehension!

Thanks for watching and enjoy your day on Steemit!

Shaka


All photos were recorded by myself with an EOS 7D / Tamron 18-270 mm in April, 2018

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center