Discovering Crete, Part 10 - Moon over Kamilari

thumb-large.jpg

Greetings Steemians!

One place I often visited during my stay in order to stock up my supplies was the village Kamilari. A family-run grocery store in the village's center offers a great range of authentic Cretan products.

Situated on a picturesque hillside, this village has become quite a popular holiday destination in recent years. Fortunately, the centre of the village has remained very idyllic and where restoration work has been carried out, this has been done with taste and sense of proportion. Outside the village there is a wonderful view on the sea. The famous Komo Beach, which I will show you in a subsequent post, is just a 10 min drive away.

Another attraction for me was the tavern Loggia, which is run by a local Greek together with his German wife from Munich. The kitchen offers all kinds of Cretan delicacies that can be enjoyed on the tavern's cosy terrace, but are offered for take-away, too. What I generally enjoyed very much while eating out in Crete was the possibility to always have a guided tour through the kitchen before you decide. Basically, you can choose the food directly from the pot or pan from which it was prepared. WYSIWYG at it's best.

Kamilari is particularly charming during the evening hours, when the white plastered houses of the village begin to glow in the late sun. Here are a few pictures to give you an impression:

door.jpg

cat-1.jpg

cat-3.jpg

cat-2.jpg
Can you see the mark in the cat's right ear? It shows that the cat was sterilized. I talked to a local, who explained to me that there is an initiative with a vet in Kamilari that aims to collect all street cats over time to sterilize them. Once it's done they get this mark in one of their ears. The many taverns of the village attract cats from a large area so if nothing would be done the cats would quickly overpopulate the place which would result in a bad live for the cats, too.

moon-1.jpg

sunset.jpg

moon.jpg
Before you begin to wonder, the stars are in fact not stars but high ISO noise artefacts. Still, for a freehanded shot with my allrounder gear I'm quite happy with the outcome. If you wish to see, how the pro is doing it, I warmly recommend to follow the blog of @terrylovejoy for outstanding astrophotograpy.

Thanks for watching and 'til next time!

Shaka


All photos were recorded by myself with an Canon EOS 7D / Tamron 18-270 mm in Mai 2018. All rights reserved.


Discovering Crete - All previous posts:

Part 1, Agiofárango I Part 2, Agiofárango II
Part 3, Monastery Odigítrias I Part 4, Monastery Odigítrias II
Part 5, Phaistos I Part 6, Phaistos II
Part 7, Phaistos III Part 8, Mátala I
Part 9, Mátala II
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now