Grand Teton National Park - Winter

A couple months ago I had the opportunity to visit Grand Teton National Park. Something that made this trip unique for me is that it was winter time! I grew up in Southern California, so I haven’t experienced a ton of snow in my life. The photos I was able to capture are really a treat for me.

I really like this landscape shot I was able to capture as well. I’ve never really taken any cool landscape shots in the past, let alone a cool one during the winter time! While we were in Grand Teton National Park, I snowshoe-d down to this beautiful river and was able to get this shot! I love the slight feeling of atmospheric perspective we get here with the mountain in the background, the trees in the foreground, and the trees in between.

Sarah-Rodebush-Grand-Tetoon-National-park-1-625x417.jpeg

I especially love this one of the lone tree. We were on our way out of the park, after day full of photos, and saw this tree all by itself surrounded by a sea of white. We couldn’t help but pull over so I could snap this shot. I love the composition of it and feel that it makes it evident that you can find gems in the winter time in Grand Teton National Park too!

Sarah-Rodebush-Grand-Tetoon-National-park-2-625x417.jpeg

I also thought this was a unique shot because of how the treeline perfectly splits the frame in half diagonally. This one was taken with a 150-600mm lens on my Canon T5.

Sarah-Rodebush-Grand-Teton-National-Park-7-625x417.jpeg

This shot was a miracle really. We were driving in the car, and saw some birds eating a carcas of an animal, and thought they were just crows, so we kept driving for a minute. Then someone yelled “BALD EAGLE!” and the van came to an abrupt stop! I luckily had the 150-600mm lens on my camera at the moment, but had such a hard time finding my subjects with that large of a zoom! I got a few crows, and thought I missed the bald eagle shot altogether until I got back in the van, started looking through my “failure” photos, and found this: Bald Eagle at Grant Teton Nation Park.

Sarah-Rodebush-Grand-Tetoon-National-park-3-625x417.jpeg

This little guy was also roaming around not too far from the bald eagle.

Sarah-Rodebush-Grand-Teton-National-Park-8-417x625.jpeg

I love the composition of this last shot as well. The staggering heights of the trees is so visually appealing to me, and this is something I could see hanging in my home.

Sarah-Rodebush-Grand-Tetoon-National-park-4-625x417.jpeg

Overall, I had a fantastic time at Grand Teton National Park and have gained a far greater appreciation of winter time because of it!

If you’d like to see some more inspirin winter shots of Grand Teton National Park, check out Wild West Art & Media:

http://wildwest-media.photoshelter.com/image/I0000tYhUo41dG8k

Follow along for more photos, designs, tutorials, tips, and tricks! Thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now