Magic Moments - Revelation

New Zealand is a traveler’s and photographer’s dream. I had the pleasure to visit this wonderful country twice already. During my last visit I returned to Tongariro National Park.

The first time I was there in 2014 and it was raining the whole time with thick clouds obscuring the mountains. Strong winds prevented any hiking in the area and so we drove on to our next destination without taking any photos.

As I returned to New Zealand last year I kept the whole trip very flexible. I constantly studied the weather forecast and once it looked like a change in weather was due, we drove towards the park.

It still looked very similar to our last visit when we arrived, with low hanging clouds hiding Mount Ngauruhoe and Mount Ruapehu. But I was hopeful and started the hike to the Tama Lakes in the afternoon.

It was a two hour hike through the clouds, winds blazing around me. But I had to give it a try. I wouldn’t return once more without a photo.

Revelation

As I arrived at the viewpoint it was two hours before sunset and I still couldn’t see the mountains. A lot of previsualization was needed when I scouted the area to find a spot to set up my camera. Then I waited.

Revelation

The reward came with an unbelievable play between clouds and light. As the clouds became thinner and thinner and the light started to touch the landscape Mount Ruapehu revealed itself for the first time.

It was a very special moment and the result is one of my all-time favorite photos.

If you want to see more such photos, head over to my homepage and feel free to browse the various galleries.


!steemitworldmap -39.189842 lat 175.606947 long Lower Tama Lake D3SCR
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now