LAGO D'ORTA - the beauty of Italian lakes and little villages in the North 🇮🇹

🌷HI STEEMIANS!🌷

Our Abandoned-Italy Tour continues and today we are at Lago d'Orta - a lake close to the border between Piedmont and Lombardia. You might have heard about Lago Maggiore, which is pretty close by and more famous.
❄️For exactly that reason, we are travelling to Lago d'Orta. ❄️

Alessandro_Leonardi.JPG

☂️

The morning is misty, wet and even a bit snowy. As we leave from Torino towards the lake, we worry that our little Polo might not make it all the way up the hills. But luckily, the Polo is in great shape and seems to be in his element.

☂️

I36C2524.JPG

☂️

I36C2536.JPG

☂️

Everything looks a bit washed out. Like quickly painted with water colours. The edges and fringes didn't matter to the artist today. Sky, water, trees, everything has the same grey shade of blue. And the sun is nowhere to be seen.

☂️

Alessandro_Leonardi_1.JPG

☂️

It's quiet and we feel no wind. Just this soft layer of wetness on our cheeks and our hair.

☂️

Alessandro_Leonardi_winter.JPG

☂️

We are wondering around the lake - without a specific goal - just filling our lungs with precious icy crystals. The lake used to be heavily polluted by the industry around the lake but Piedmont made a big effort in order to bring life back to the lake. It took 30 years in order to clean it and introduce fish and other sea creatures back into the natural cycle.

☂️

I36C2555.JPG

☂️

I36C2568.JPG

☂️

Today you can swim and fish again in the lago d'Orta and it even got the reputation of being a place for lovers and young couples who want to have a romantic weekend and escape Milano, Bergamo or Torino.

☂️

I36C2577.JPG

☂️

I36C2573.JPG

☂️

ISOLA SAN GIULIO


The precious little island you see in the background is called Isola San Giulio. The island is mainly occupied by a convent: catholic sisters that never leave the island. The chief of the nuns - La Madre Superiora - is very famous and she offers advice to normal people from time to time. People say that it's a magnificent experience to meet her. Unfortunately, we didn't have the chance to go to the island. Above all entering the convent is only possible with an appointment.

🗺

I36C2579.JPG

🗺

I36C2580.JPG

🗺

The atmosphere around the lake is mysterious. I can only recommend to travel there in winter. We were told that it's jam-packed in summer. But now, the little streets are sleeping, few souls wondering through the narrow archways. Everybody friendly, everybody silent.

🗺

Alessandro_Leonardi_regista.JPG

🗺

I36C2584.JPG

🗺

I36C2587.JPG

🗺

It seems like the entire population is in hibernation.

🗺

I36C2589.JPG

🗺

I36C2590.JPG

🗺

The door to the church is open and we sneak in. The calm and cool air with a slight note of smells and bells is greeting us as we pass the gate.

🗺

I36C2591.JPG

🗺

I36C2602.JPG

🗺

After a short walk we reach the main square of the village. No ice cream shop, no souvenirs, no tourists. Just a couple of people wondering slowly over the square - seemingly with no mission. Seemingly with no worries. Seemingly content.

🗺

I36C2605.JPG

🗺

I36C2606.JPG

🗺

From down here, we can clearly see the convent. This is exactly how I always imagine Avalon. Did you read Marion Zimmer-Bradley? Such a place of imagination and fantasy. In my mind, it had exactly this colour, surrounded by mist and mystery.

🗺

I36C2610.JPG

🗺

I36C2612.JPG

🌷I hope you enjoyed our little reportage about Lago d'Orta. If you feel like 'Lago Maggiore' is too touristic and you're still searching for the beauty of Italian lakes by the mountains - this is a good address. 🌷

Where do you plan to travel to this summer?

Steem on and stay curious!

🌿ELENA & ALE🌿

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center